Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Alternative Press Index
A bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.
Alternative Press Index Archive
Archive covers 1969-1990. Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.
Gender Studies Database
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
International Women's Periodicals, 1786-1933: Social and Political Issues.
Historical women's periodicals provide an important resource to scholars interested in the lives of women, the role of women in society and, in particular, the development of the public lives of women as the push for women's rights—woman suffrage, fair pay, better working conditions, for example—grew in the United States and England.
Italian Women Writers
A long-term research endeavor to preserve and provide access to an extensive corpus of literature written by Italian women authors.
Women's Magazine Archive
An archive of leading women’s interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Consumer magazines aimed at a female readership are recognized as critical primary sources through which to interpret multiple aspects of 19th and 20th-century history and culture.
Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database by Ebscohost provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals.
Compass (Search All)
A discovery tool that searches University Libraries' digital and print journals, books, newspapers, dissertations, and Library Catalog.
Enables users to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
Finding Databases by Subject
In the Databases in Related Subjects tab I have listed some subject specific databases related to gender and women's studies. University Libraries provides access to a wide variety of other subject specific databases, from anthropology and art to sociology and psychology. To find the databases from the University Libraries home page:
1) Click on the Databases link
2) Change the All Subjects dropdown menu to the discipline you want, such as Film Studies
3) The databases listed in the Best Bets category are good places to start your search for that discipline's literature.