Designed for academic institutions, this database by Ebscohost provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals.

Provides extensive news coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. Features the vast majority of U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with almost one thousand hard-to-find local and regional titles, and offers searchable news video clips and over two thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

A bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.

Archive covers 1969-1990. Alternative Press Index is a bibliographic database of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from over 300 international alternative, radical, and left periodicals.

Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels.

Contains nearly 3,000 poems by African American poets of the eighteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.

Developed in conjunction with the American Theological Library Association (ATLA) as part of an effort to preserve endangered serials related to African American religious life and culture, this collection documents the history of African American life and religious organizations from materials published between 1829 and 1922.

Provides access to U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

Diverse periodicals - which have shaped, and in turn been shaped by, African American culture - will enable new discoveries on lives of African Americans as individuals, as an ethnic group and as Americans.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

Created from the Library Company’s acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection - an accumulation that began with Benjamin Franklin and steadily increased throughout its entire history - this unique online resource will provide researchers with more than 12,000 printed works.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

Featuring more than 13,500 works published between 1860 and 1922, this fully searchable collection offers printed items addressing all facets of the Civil War and its aftermath.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

Enables researchers to investigate Jewish immigration, genealogy, history and so much more.

Allows users to explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.

Enables researchers to investigate Jewish immigration, genealogy, history and so much more.

Reports, publications, and news broadcasts covering America's fight for racial justice, with firsthand analysis of race relations in Latin America, Europe, Africa, and Asia.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

Historical newspapers covering religious news and the role religion played in American life and society published between 1799 through 1900.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

Slavery and abolition materials, all filmed in full-resolution color, include books, pamphlets, graphic materials, and ephemera; among them are a large number of invaluable Southern imprints.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

Collections spanning from 1940 to 2014, with the bulk from 1950 to 1990, focusing on gender and LGBTQ studies, women's studies, American studies, civil and human rights, journalism, social movement history, and British twentieth-century history.

Draws content from the Recovering the U.S. Hispanic Literary Heritage Project, the largest national project ever to locate, preserve, and disseminate Latino-Hispanic culture of the United States in its written form, from colonial times to 1960. Historical content covers Hispanic history, literature, political commentary, and culture in the United States as well as the evolution of Hispanic civil rights, religious thought, and women writers. Focuses on the Latino-Hispanic history of the United States. Content includes articles, broadsides, pamphlets, rare books, and personal and organizational manuscripts. Content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%), indexed and searchable in both languages.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Presents the massive, international impact of African American activism against slavery, in the writings and publications of the activists themselves.

Provides continuous newspaper runs of vital primary source materials essential for the study of U.S. history, African-American history, culture, politics, genealogy, the arts, media, and communications.

Brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.

Includes over 140 Caribbean newspapers published in the 18th and 19th centuries from 22 countries. Essential for research on colonial history, the Atlantic slave trade, international commerce, and New World slavery.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

This primary source collection of U.S. congressional publications spans challenges of civil rights such as freed slaves, and women’s suffrage.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

Various accounts of the war as experienced on land and sea from hospitals and prison camps including contextual documents in the years leading up to the war and after the fall of the Confederacy. The Civil War Primary Source Documents collection, drawn from the holdings of the New York Historical Society, contains Northern and Southern points of view.

Over 120,000 pages of original documents relating to Gender Studies. Images are sourced from British and European libraries and archives, including a strong core of document images from the Bodleian Library, Oxford and the British Library.

An essential key to understanding the world of Islam, and the authoritative source not only for the religion, but also for the believers and the countries in which they live.

Features advanced search options, as well as extensive cross-references and full-text search functionality using the Hebrew character set. With over 850 entries and approximately 400 contributing scholars, it is the authoritative reference work for students and researchers in the fields of Hebrew linguistics, general linguistics, Biblical studies, Hebrew and Jewish literature, and related fields.

Provides coverage of many of the most influential ethnic groups in U.S. history; with an emphasis on Americans of Czech, French, German, Hungarian, Irish, Italian, Japanese, Jewish, Lithuanian, Polish, Slovak and Welsh descent.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

Provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content. Available as two resources: Ethnic NewsWatch, which is a current collection, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which is an historical collection.

Offers insight into the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing immediate access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women’s History, Duke University and The New York Public Library.

Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.

A multidisciplinary bibliography on Latin America consisting of sources from the humanities and social sciences.

Source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

Offers a diversity of unabridged voices, ranging from intellectuals and literary notables to politicians, union organizers and grassroots figures.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

This digital archive contains translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

A collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines, and journals produced by feminists, dissident GIs, campus radicals, Native Americans, anti-war activists, Black Power advocates, Hispanics, LGBTQIA activists, the extreme right-wing press, and alternative literary magazines during the latter half of the 20th century.

An index on Jewish history, activity and thought. Provides a comprehensive guide to English-language articles, book reviews, and feature stories in more than 160 journals devoted to Jewish affairs.

Sources collections from Canadian and American institutions, providing insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth (17th) into the twentieth (20th) century. Includes diverse manuscripts, book collections, and newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations.

The largest Digital Archive of Irish Newspapers in the world, with titles from every corner of the nation, providing access to millions of newspaper articles spanning over 300 years of Irish history.

Explore nearly 150 years of the Emerald Isle's turbulent history, rich culture, and complex political climate with The Irish Times (1859-2008) and the Weekly Irish Times (1876-1958). From the aftermath of the Great Famine, the launch of the Titanic, and the Easter Rising of 1916, to the World Wars, the Troubles, and today's most pressing global social issues, Ireland's "only independent newspaper" lends its authoritative voice to local and international events alike.

Serves as a primary source of news and information as well as a forum for discussion and debate, providing lines of communication uniting the community and supporting the efforts aimed at reinvigorating and broadening Jewish religious and cultural life.

Historical newspapers including The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922)‎, The American Israelite (1854-1922)‎, The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990)‎, & The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)‎

Allows users to explore the history of Jewish communities in America from the arrival of the first Jews in the 17th century right through to the mid-20th century. This rich collection brings to life the communal and social aspects of Jewish identity and culture, while tracing Jewish involvement in the political life of American society as a whole.

This collection is designed to help users understand today’s versions of populism, American nationalism, and the Alt-right. The collection includes local, regional, and national newspapers published by Ku Klux Klan organizations and by sympathetic publishers across the U.S. from 1921-1932. It also includes the voices from several anti-Klan newspapers of the period.

Fully searchable collection providing Latin American newspapers published in the 19th and early 20th centuries featured from Argentina, Brazil, Chile, Cuba, Guatemala, Mexico, Peru, Venezuela and elsewhere.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

A digital library of primary sources in American social history primarily from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

A digital library of primary sources in American social history from the antebellum period through reconstruction.

Explores the movement of peoples from Great Britain, Ireland, mainland Europe and Asia to the New World and Australasia.

Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Digital access to the archival runs of 15 major 20th century & 21st century consumer magazines covering such fields as the history of politics, current events, public policy, and international relations.

Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Through the digitized pages of The New York Times with Index, readers witness the arrival of immigrants to America's shores and follow the establishment of neighborhoods and businesses. They experience the rise and fall of financial markets and mark the introduction of the mass-produced automobile, television, space travel, and medical innovations. They gain insight into the causes and effects of the Civil War in the 1800s, the "war to end all wars" in the 1900s, and the war on terrorism in this century.

Horace Greeley, founder of the New York Tribune, was arguably one of the most colorful and powerful publishers of his time. His editorials influenced the abolishment of slavery, plagued presidents and politicians, and encouraged the settlement of the West.

Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

A collection of women's diaries and correspondence spanning more than 300 years, bringing the personal experiences of some 1,325 women to researchers, students, and general readers.

"Perdita" means "lost woman" and the quest of the Perdita Project has been to find early modern women authors who were "lost" because their writing exists only in manuscript form. Thanks to the endeavours of the Perdita Project the valuable work of these "lost" women is being rediscovered.

One of the longest surviving daily newspapers in the United States, it is known for its coverage of the American Civil War, its published works by Charles Dickens and Edgar Allen Poe, and its reporting of breaking news in the city, country, and around the world.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

This historical newspaper provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

The Post-Gazette offered leading coverage of the U.S. westward expansion into Ohio and the Northwest Territory, the political unrest leading to the U.S. Civil War, and the industrial revolution.

Allows students and researchers to explore and compare unique material relating to the complex subjects of slavery, abolition and social justice.

Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.

An archive of leading women’s interest magazines, dating from the 19th century through to the 21st. Consumer magazines aimed at a female readership are recognized as critical primary sources through which to interpret multiple aspects of 19th and 20th-century history and culture.

Enables researchers to quickly locate details of documents (c1559-1995) from the National Archives at Kew relating to the subject of women.