It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Collection Number B121
Benjamin M. Blumberg (1911-1978) was in the newspaper business and was a reporter or editor for a number of Colorado newspapers, many of which focused on Colorado's Jewish community. (cont.)
Blumberg held leadership positions with many Jewish community organizations, including Allied Jewish Community Council, B'nai B'rith Lodge #171 in Denver, and the Jewish Youth Council in Denver. He was the first administrator of General Rose Hospital in Denver, and he was also employed with Massachusetts Mutual Life Insurance Company. The collection contains Blumberg's personal papers, including those pertaining to his newspaper career, education, and community organization involvement. The collection also contains materials related to Milton Louis Anfenger and Saul Pinchick as well as papers that belonged to Blumberg's wife, Anne Blumberg.
Bernard Zion Lande Papers
Collection Number B122 Bernard Zion Lande, the grandson of early Denver Jewish pioneer Zion Wolf Karsh, was born in Denver, Colorado, on July 11, 1927. Lande grew up on Denver's west side and attended the Hebrew Educational Alliance. (cont.)
While still in his teens, he helped to found the Jewish Youth Council, and in 1947 he attended the Brandeis Camp in California, where he gained his first exposure to the philosophies of the Jewish Reconstructionist movement. Lande received a master's degree in social psychology from the University of Denver in 1950, and he served in the army for two years as a research psychologist in Beckly, West Virginia. He was instrumental in the establishment, organization, and evaluation of havurot--groups of people who gather together to read, study, and worship at each other's homes--and these fellowships ultimately evolved into the Colorado Jewish Reconstructionist Federation. Lande died at the age of 51 on July 24, 1978. The collection consists of papers belonging to Lande, including personal papers about psychology, papers related to his travels, papers about Shalom Bardin Institute, papers about the Brandeis Camp Institute, notes, journals, correspondence, a framed certificate, and publications.
Colorado Committee of Concern for Soviet Jewry Records
Collection Number B093
Congregation Micah Records
Collection Number B136 Congregation Micah, the second Jewish Reform congregation in Denver, was started by members of Denver's Temple Emanuel who felt that their congregation had strayed from the principles (cont.)
taught by its former leader, Rabbi William Friedman. A number of individuals involved in the school's formation started a Reform Judaism congregation, which became incorporated in September 1956 as the Denver Congregation for Reform Judaism and changed its name to Congregation Micah in 1957. Congregation Micah is still active, currently meeting at 2600 Leyden in Denver.
Collection Number B098
In 1976 the Rocky Mountain Jewish Historical Society (RMJHS) began conducting interviews of Denver's long-time Jewish community members in an effort to record oral histories reflecting Jewish history and culture in Colorado. (cont.)
The interviews were made by the former and current directors of RMJHS as well as its trained volunteers. These recordings of Jewish men and women reveal information about the history of various individuals and families, Jewish organizations, religious groups, medical and social centers, schools, and businesses in Colorado. The oral histories provide insights into the experiences of European-Jewish immigrants and Jewish settlers in Colorado during the 19th and early 20th centuries; the recordings also recount the daily activities that defined Jewish social and professional lives in Colorado.
William Weil (Fashion Bar) Papers
Collection Number B265
Special Collections at the University of Denver is located in Room 101 on the lower level of the Anderson Academic Commons.