Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Online Citation Guides
APA Academic Writer
Ultimate resource on APA Style which includes guides, tutorials, and research tools.
Chicago Manual of Style Online
The online edition of the Chicago Manual of Style (CMOS) provides the full text in HTML or PDF formats as appropriate. The index makes it easier to navigate appropriate sections.
Searchable full-text version of the Associated Press Stylebook, including an A-Z guide to usage, spelling, and pronunciation with audio files.
Limited to 10 concurrent users.
Citation Guides in Print
If you would prefer to look at a print copy of a style manual, the Main Library at Anderson Academic Commons has them on the reference shelves -- ask for them at the Research Center on the main/entry level of the AAC.
Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association by
Publication Date: 2009-07-15
In addition to providing guidance on grammar, the mechanics of writing, and APA style, this manual offers an authoritative reference and citation system.
MLA Handbook by
Publication Date: 2016-04-01
The Modern Language Association, the authority on research and writing, takes a fresh look at documenting sources in the eighth edition of the MLA Handbook.
The Chicago Manual of Style by
Publication Date: 2010-08-01
The Chicago system of documentation has been streamlined and adapted for a variety of online and digital sources.
A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations by
Publication Date: 2007-04-15
This seventh edition of Turabian’s Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations is a classic reference revised for a new age. It is tailored to a new generation of writers using tools its original author could not have imagined—while retaining the clarity and authority that generations of scholars have come to associate with the name Turabian.
Quick tools for auto-formatting your citations:
Want to use a program that not only creates your bibliography automatically, but can also store and organize citations and PDFs?
- Check out ReadCube Papers -- DU provides all students, faculty, and staff with free accounts.
- Check out Zotero -- a great free option from the makers of the Firefox browser.
Just need to format a few citations right now? Try these quick tools:
Create a quick bibliography by pasting in a page URL or article information such as the DOI.
Google Scholar Citation Generator
Look up an citation in Google Scholar, then look for the quote icon below the citation. This link provides examples of the citation in MLA, APA, and Chicago styles.
Build citations in APA, Chicago, or MLA style.
Whichever program you choose, remember to proofread the citations it generates for you!
Online Citation Resources
Online Citation Resources
Even with these online resources, you may need to consult the actual style manual to make certain you have formatted a citation correctly. You can consult a citation manual books at the Research Center Desk in the library, or use the Citation Guides listed to your left.