Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sources on Migration
Because migration is such a multi-faceted topic, journals that cover migration are found in many different databases. Here are your best bets for finding articles on migration. Depending on your topic, other databases listed above might also be relevant for your search.
Add a few keywords relevant to your research to this basic search string:
(migrants OR migration OR immigrat* OR emigrat*) AND ...
Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database by Ebscohost provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals.
Agricultural & Environmental Science Collection (ProQuest)
Includes ESPM (Environmental Sciences and Pollution Management); EIS (Environmental Impact Statements); TOXLINE; and AGRICOLA (a comprehensive agricultural research database from the USDA -- ProQuest's version of AGRICOLA provides convenient links to DU's full-text subscriptions when available). Sources include scholarly journals, trade journals, newspapers and magazines, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books, and government publications.
America: History and Life
Full text, indexes, and abstracts of journal articles, book reviews and dissertations covering the entire period of U.S. and Canadian history (prehistory-present).
Border and Migration Studies Online
Provides historical background on more than thirty key worldwide border areas, including: U.S. and Mexico; the European Union; Afghanistan; Israel; Turkey; The Congo; Argentina; China; Thailand; and others. Features 100,000 pages of text, 175 hours of video, and 1,000 images.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Full text, indexes, and abstracts journal articles, book reviews, books, and dissertations covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450-present.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Contains full text for 344 "core" coverage journals in sociology, its sub-disciplines, and related fields dating back to 1895, and 129 "priority" coverage journals.
Part of Social Science Premium Collection, this collection provides access to Sociological Abstracts in combination with other databases covering the international literature in sociology and social services, along with related fields.
Web of Science Core Collection
Provides multidisciplinary coverage of high-impact scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited References Search to find articles that cite an author or work -- this allows you to track citations forward in time. Content dates from 1900 - present. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index.
Worldwide Political Science Abstracts
Provides abstracts and indexing of the international literature of political science and international relations, along with complementary fields, including international law and public administration/policy.