Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books and other texts
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Use this database to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. Full-text searching of millions of pages allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Contains more than 3,900 plays in verse and prose from the late thirteenth century (the likely date of the Shrewsbury Fragments) to the early twentieth.
The online gateway to the eighteenth century, providing access to tens of thousands of letters from the best critical editions from leading scholarly and university presses around the globe.
Limited to 1 concurrent user.
Newspapers and Journals
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
These 200 years of accounts are essential to the study of British history and culture at crucial periods in the nation’s development as a world power. With the East and West India Companies and its military strength, England was the center of trade, power and culture during this period. This collection gives new freshness and immediacy to historical events and reflects the cultural trends, political currents and social problems of the day.
Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the mid twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
Digital Collections of Primary Source Materials
British Literary Manuscripts Online
Facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials.
Brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and it's theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
The Grand Tour was a rite-of-passage for many aristocratic and wealthy young men of the eighteenth century: a phenomenon which shaped the creative and intellectual sensibilities of some of the eighteenth century’s greatest artists, writers and thinkers. This database highlights the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy.
Making of Modern Law: Primary Sources, 1620-1926
Offers online access to state and municipal codes, documents relating to constitutional conventions, and other resources in American legal history.
Note: The term primary sources is used here not in the historian's sense of a manuscript, letter, or diary, but rather in the legal sense of a case, statute, or regulation.
Making of Modern Law: Trials 1600-1926
Describes the courtroom dramas that rocked society in America, the British Empire and the world. This fully searchable digital collection includes unofficially published accounts of trials; official trial documents, briefs and arguments; and official records of legislative proceedings, administrative proceedings and arbitrations.
Making of the Modern World
Observes history through the lens of wealth and trade with a focus on economics in the widest sense, including political science, history, philosophy, sociology, and special collections on banking, finance, transportation and manufacturing.
Images and Video
A nonprofit resource that provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Theatre in Video
The collection aims to begin in the 1930s and will progress through the 20th century with videos covering the work of the Group Theater and Brecht's Berliner Ensemble.
Limited to 3 concurrent users.