Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Using Video - Screen Capture
"Screenjelly records your screen activity with your voice so you can spread it via Twitter or email. Use it to quickly share cool apps or software tips, report a bug, or just show stuff you like. "
Screencast.com gives you a way to manage and share videos, images, documents, or anything else online.
Using Video - Movie and Video Software
For Macs. You probably already have the software.
Movie Maker 10
Inspired by legacy versions from earlier versions of Windows, Movie Maker 10 is the most simple, efficient, and affordable movie maker and video editing app for your needs on the Microsoft Store. Available in both free and paid (pro) editions.
Movie Maker for Windows 7
Create movies and slide shows from your photos and videos, and share them with your friends and family. Here are the computer system requirements
Finding Video - Video Databases
Access World News
Provides extensive news coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. Features the vast majority of U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with almost one thousand hard-to-find local and regional titles, and offers searchable news video clips and over two thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
American History in Video
Allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Limited to 3 concurrent users.
Theatre in Video
The collection aims to begin in the 1930s and will progress through the 20th century with videos covering the work of the Group Theater and Brecht's Berliner Ensemble.
Limited to 3 concurrent users.
Finding Video - Open Access Video Resources
Flickr Video (freely available)
Flickr allows searches of video files uploaded for free download and scholarly use.
YouTube - Creative Commons-Licensed Videos
Users with a YouTube account can search for Creative Commons-licensed videos for download and scholarly use.
Internet Archive: Moving Image Archive
The Internet Archive hosts this library of thousands of video files, which include classic full-length films, daily news broadcasts, cartoons, concerts, and more. Many are available for free download and scholarly use.
OV: The Open Video Project
This repository of digitized video content is available for scholarly use, under fair use rules.
Pond5 Public Domain Project
Media sharing website Pond5 has created a public domain project, offering thousands of audio, video, and image files for open use.
Wikimedia offers almost 25 million image, audio, and video files for open use.
Finding Video - Other Resources
TED Talks are available for use according to a "Creative Commons BY-NC-ND license." This means that videos can be used for noncommercial purposes, as long as they remain unaltered and attribution is given. See site for fuller explanation.