Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Audio - Sound Databases
Database of Recorded American Music (DRAM)
DRAM is a collection of sound recordings documenting American music largely ignored by the commercial recording companies. DRAM is a not-for-profit resource providing CD quality audio, complete and original liner notes and essays from New World Records, Composers Recordings, Inc. (CRI) and other labels. DRAM offers the educational community on-demand, high-quality (192kbps/MP4) streaming access to complete works. Works can be browsed by work, album or track titles, as well as...
African American Song
The first online resource to document the history of African American music in an online music listening service. The collection contains a diverse range of genres such as jazz, blues, gospel, ragtime, folk songs, and narratives, among others.
Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries
Provides coverage in breadth and depth for world music, and is essential for music history, music appreciation, world music courses and ethnomusicology.
NAXOS Music Library
An online music listening database including recordings of the complete catalogs of BIS, Chandos, CPO, Hänssler, Hungaroton, Marco Polo, Naxos and selected titles of other leading independent labels.
A history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past.
Classical Music Library
Provides coverage in breadth and depth for classical music, and is relevant to a broad range of studies, including music history, music appreciation, music performance, analysis, and theory.
Contemporary World Music
Features music from 169 countries and more than 800 labels from around the world.
Finding Audio - Open Access Audio Resources
A collection of several thousand tracks and samples that are "liberally licensed" for open use.
FMA: The Free Music Archive
WFMU directs the Free Music Archive, an online repository of audio files for free download and scholarly use.
Internet Archive: Audio Archive
Over two million items available for free download and scholarly use.
Opsound offers free audio files, uploaded to the site by their creators.
Pond5 Public Domain Project
Media sharing website Pond5 has created a public domain project, offering thousands of audio, video, and image files for open use.
Wikimedia offers almost 25 million image, audio, and video files for open use.
World Hip Hop Beats
World Hip Hop Beats hosts a repository of hip hop and rap instrumentals, freely available for scholarly use.
YouTube Audio Library
YouTube hosts a repository of music clips for download and use. Browseable by free music, ad-supported music, and sound effects.