Library Guides: Citation Analysis & Bibliometrics: Article Impact & Citation Analysis

Databases Useful for Citation Impact Searching & Analysis

Library Databases:

Web of Science Core Collection (WOS)
Provides multidisciplinary coverage of high-impact scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited References Search to find articles that cite an author or work -- this allows you to track citations forward in time. Content dates from 1900 - present. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index.
IEEE Xplore
Collection of journal articles, conference proceedings, ebooks, and standards published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers. Content dates from 1988 - present.
JSTOR
A full-text database containing complete backfiles of over 2,000 core scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the first issues and dating from the 1800s to within three to five years ago.
MathSciNet
Comprehensive indexing with reviews of research articles on pure and applied mathematics, including some statistics. Covers journals, conference proceedings, and technical reports. May be searched by Mathematics Subject Classification (MSC2010) among other search options. Includes Mathematical Reviews and Current Mathematical Publications.
PsycINFO
The American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
Also found as PsychInfo
ScienceDirect
Full-text database of periodicals published by the Elsevier company in the areas of business, medicine, science, social science, and technology.
SciFinder-n
The updated interface for Chemical Abstracts, the world's foremost resource for chemical information. Sources include scholarly journals, chemical properties and spectra, organic reactions, regulatory information, Markush structures from patents, and more. Search by topic, author, chemical identification terms (names, formulas, registry numbers), and chemical structures. Chemical literature dates from 1907 - present.
First-time users must register here before using Scifinder-n.

Free Options:

Google Scholar
Enables users to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
CiteSeerX
A scientific literature digital library and search engine that focuses primarily on the literature in computer and information science.

Using Google Scholar Citations

Google Scholar Citations provide a simple way for authors to keep track of citations to their articles. You can check who is citing your publications, graph citations over time, and compute several citation metrics. You can also make your profile public, so that it may appear in Google Scholar results when people search for your name. -- from Google Scholar

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

Citation Analysis & Bibliometrics

Databases Useful for Citation Impact Searching & Analysis

Using Google Scholar Citations