Library Guides: PLSC 3290 EU Citizenship Capstone: Home

Databases

VLex Global Database
Finds constitutions, laws, bills, and cases from foreign countries.

HeinOnline
Contains treaties, both multilateral and bilateral, foreign constitutions, and extensive coverage of international law through law reviews.
United Nations Official Documents System
Provides searching and retrieval of bibliographic records and full text of major portions of UN documents.
International Financial Statistics
Covers the monthly publication International Financial Statistics as well as data found in the annual publication International Financial Statistics Yearbook.
Statista
Features data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, including market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Note: For University of Denver faculty, students and staff only. Users of the Statista websites and subpages are granted a nonexclusive, non-transferable, limited right to access and use for research purposes the Online Service and Materials made available. Commercial use is strictly prohibited. No library walk-ins are allowed to use this database.
International Historical Statistics
An impressive and peerless collection of statistical data from around the world, covering a wide range of socio-economic topics.
Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law
The searchable online edition of the Encyclopedia of Public International Law.
Immigrations, Migrations and Refugees: Global Perspectives, 1941-1996
This digital archive contains translated and English-language radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, periodicals, government documents, and books providing global insight on immigration in the mid-to-late 20th century.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Statesman's Yearbook
Includes reliable information on all 194 countries in the world plus states and dependencies, covering key historical events, population, and more.
Ulrichsweb
Quick way to find out if a journal is peer-reviewed or not.

National Government Information

Google site-searching is the best way to discover primary sources from European government websites. You first need to know the top-level domain of the country. You can use the Wikipedia site to discover this: https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Country_code_top-level_domain.

For example, the TLD for Spain is "es", Austria is "at", and Greece is "gr".

Search Google Web first to discover what the government subdomain.

For example, you might search: site:es government. We see that the government subdomain is: gob.es.

It appears that Austria uses .gv. So the subdomain is: gv.at.

Greece appears to use gov, thus: gov.gr

From there we can now discover primary sources from in-country government websites. Examples:

site:gov.gr citizenship OR site:gov.gr citizenship filetype:pdf

International Organization Information

First, find out "who cares" about your topic among international organization. Some examples of relevant IOs might be:

European Union: europa.eu

European Commission: commission.europa.eu

United Nations: un.org

International Organization for Migration: iom.org

Next. Do Google site searching to find specific documents:

site:europa.eu migration hungary

site:un.org citiizenship belgium filetype:pdf

Subject Guide

Christopher C. Brown

Email Me

Contact:

University Libraries

University of Denver

(303) 871-3404

Subjects: Area Studies, Government Information, International Studies, Law / Legal Studies, Political Science, Statistics / Datasets

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

PLSC 3290 EU Citizenship Capstone: Home

Databases

National Government Information

International Organization Information

Subject Guide