Library Guides: South Asian Studies: Research Resources

Library Catalogs

Library Catalog
Books, Periodical Titles, Videos and other cataloged materials
This is the library catalog for the University Libraries. Your search will help you locate materials owned by the University Libraries, including books, magazines, and other cataloged materials. System automatically utilizes the Boolean and to connect terms.

more... less...

Books, Periodical Titles, Videos and other cataloged materials
This is the library catalog for the University Libraries. Your search will help you locate materials owned by the University Libraries, including books, magazines, and other cataloged materials. System automatically utilizes the Boolean and to connect terms.
Prospector
A unified catalog of many Colorado area libraries. Books held by the libraries can be requested via Prospector and are delivered to the Main Library at the Anderson Academic Commons in 3 to 5 days. Colorado Legislative Council reports not cataloged in the library catalog can be identified by using Prospector.

WorldCat
The world's largest bibliographic database presents bibliographic records for books, serials (journals), and all other formats. Use WorldCat to find materials not in University Libraries or Prospector.

Database & Article Search

Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database by Ebscohost provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
eHRAF World Cultures
A cross-cultural database that contains over 350,000 pages of information on all aspects of cultural and social life.
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Full text, indexes, and abstracts journal articles, book reviews, books, and dissertations covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450-present.
JSTOR
A full-text database containing complete backfiles of over 2,000 core scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the first issues and dating from the 1800s to within three to five years ago.
Kanopy
Transforming learning through video. Subjects covered include Business/Training, Health, Media/Communications, Sciences, Humanities, Education (K-12). Users can search, browse and see previews of videos. Kanopy is a mediated resource through which DU faculty, students, and staff may request feature films for purchase, and DU affiliates may view library-licensed films.
Project Muse
Provides access to the full text of nearly 500 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index
Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Compass (Search All)
A discovery tool that searches University Libraries' digital and print journals, books, newspapers, dissertations, and Library Catalog.

Country Information Databases

CultureGrams [electronic resource]
Call Number: Internet GT150 .C85

Publication Date: 2013-

EIU Country Commerce
Provides reports of operating conditions, commercial laws, and business regulations of approximately 60 countries worldwide.
Political Handbook of the World
Combines comprehensive country and intergovernmental organization profiles from the print edition with a convenient, user-friendly database that organizes the content with a number of browses.
Political Risk Yearbook
Provides background information, including geography, history, international relationships and economic conditions as well as government policies that can affect business conditions of a country and risk factors for turmoil for over 100 countries.
Statesman's Yearbook
Includes reliable information on all 194 countries in the world plus states and dependencies, covering key historical events, population, and more.
World Bank: Documents & Reports
Various full-text reports from the World Bank.

Country Information from U.S. Dept. of State

Bureau of East Asian and Pacific Affairs (U.S. Dept. of State)
Information about countries, press releases.
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets (U.S. Dept. of State). Formerly Background Notes.
Summary of U.S. relations with each country.

Selected Internet Sites

Asian Studies WWW Virtual Library
Supported by the Australian National Library, this major scholarly site is a research tool for Asian societies, politics, economics, histories and cultures. ASVL includes links to 60 individual countries and 8 regions.

more... less...

Supported by the Australian National Library, this major scholarly site is a research tool for Asian societies, politics, economics, histories and cultures. ASVL includes links to 60 individual countries and 8 regions.
Association for Asian Studies
The home page for the major society of Asian Studies provides information for scholars & researchers.
Digital South Asia Library
The Digital South Asia Library, a joint project of the Center for Research Libraries and the University of Chicago, features digitized reference resources, bibliographies, books, journals, maps, images, indexes, and statistics.

more... less...

The Digital South Asia Library, a joint project of the Center for Research Libraries and the University of Chicago, features digitized reference resources, bibliographies, books, journals, maps, images, indexes, and statistics.
National Bureau of Asian Research (NBR)
"NBR conducts advanced independent research on strategic, political, economic, globalization, health, and energy issues affecting U.S. relations with Asia."
Portal to Asian Internet Resources
The Digital Asia Library/Portal to Asian Internet Resources, based at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, is a cooperative project of The Ohio State University Libraries, the University of Minnesota Libraries, and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries.

more... less...

The Digital Asia Library/Portal to Asian Internet Resources, based at the University of Wisconsin-Madison, is a cooperative project of The Ohio State University Libraries, the University of Minnesota Libraries, and the University of Wisconsin-Madison Libraries.
World Factbook
World FactBook produced by the CIA has statistical facts and figures on population, government, economy, geography, etc.

more... less...

World FactBook produced by the CIA has statistical facts and figures on population, government, economy, geography, etc.

E-Book Collections

Springer Ebooks
Contains e-books in numerous subject areas.

News

Access World News
Provides extensive news coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. Features the vast majority of U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with almost one thousand hard-to-find local and regional titles, and offers searchable news video clips and over two thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports
The United States' principal historical record of political open source intelligence for more than half a century.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.

Foreign Press Translations in Print research guide
A research guide to collection of historic radio translations and transcriptions from serials issued in the Cold War era.

Nexis Uni
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
World News Connection
An online subscription service bringing archived news from around the world, translated into English.

Language Learning Programs

Mango Languages
Offers foreign language courses for English speakers using multimedia content. Languages include Arabic, Cherokee, Chinese, Danish, Finnish, French, German, Hawaiian, Icelandic, Japanese, Korean, Latin, Romanian, Spanish, Swahili, Swedish, Turkish, Vietnamese, Yiddish, and more.
Note: Individual user accounts are required to access Mango Languages. Mango Languages highly recommends that users watch this introductory video before starting.
Pimsleur/RB Digital
Now on Overdrive, A series of audiobooks and ebooks based on the Pimsleur method developed by Pimsleur Language Programs.
Rosetta Stone
Features full-fledged courses in 23 languages, from the most commonly spoken (such as English, Spanish and Mandarin) to the less prominent (including Polish, Tagalog, and Turkish).
Issues when accessing the site with the Chrome browser have been reported - please try another browser (e.g. Firefox) if you encounter issues.

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

South Asian Studies

Ask Us!

Library Catalogs

Database & Article Search

Country Information Databases

Country Information from U.S. Dept. of State

Selected Internet Sites

E-Book Collections

News

Language Learning Programs