Library Guides: Marketing 2800 Research Guide: The Border Bar

The Border Bar

The client for Professor Ana Babic Rosario's Marketing 2800 class is The Border Bar.

Bars and nightclubs in the U.S.
A Statista report with various charts about this industry.
Coffee shop and cafe industry in the U.S.
Statista report with various charts about coffee shops in the United States.

Foodservice Coffee and Tea - US - 2022

Leisure and Entertainment: 2023, US - 2023

Returning to Live Entertainment - US - 2022

Foodservice Alcohol Trends - US - 2022

Student Lifestyles - US - 2022

Marketing to Gen Z - US - 2022

Marketing to Millennials - US - 2022

Search the database, Mintel, listed below, to find these and other market research reports published by them.

Mintel Academic
Grants easy and fast access to the same best-in-class consumer and market intelligence used by business professionals around the world.

Bars & Nightclubs in the US
Coffee & Snack Shops in the US
Concert & Event Promotion in the US

Bars & Nightclubs
Coffee Shops
Restaurants, Bars & Food Services

These industry reports can be found in their databases provided below.

IBISWorld (IBIS)
Provides thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information with expert analysis about economic, demographic and government data.
First Research (Mergent)
Provides industry profiles within the wide range of industries that fall under Construction and Real Estate; Public Services, Education, Recreation; Retail, Food and Agriculture; Services; Manufacturing; Technology and Communications; Transportation, Energy, Storage; and Wholesale. Note: Subscription allows five simultaneous users.

Figure out your demographics using the sources below.

Esri Zip Code Lookup Tool
Click on "Explore Your Zip Code" to identify the top three lifestyle characteristics of a zip code. A subscription is required to access the full database.
Zip Code Look-Up (PRIZM/Claritas)
From Claritas, use the Zip Code Look-Up tool to find demographics for zip codes. Subscription required to access the full database.
DU facts

SimplyAnalytics
Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Account-creation optional but work will not be saved.
Limited to 5 concurrent users

The sources below can help you identify local competitors.

Reference Solutions (ReferenceUSA)
A directory of about 44 million U.S. private and public companies. Provides addresses, contact names, estimates sales and employee figures. Users can search by SIC, yellow page heading, state, city, and down to the zip code level.
Also found as Reference USA

Google Maps
Enter the business type you are researching and the zip code in the search box to find competitors. Use Reference Solutions to find some more information about a company, including estimated sales figures and number of employees.
Yelp