Library Guides: Marketing 2800 Research Guide: Market Research

Best Bets

Best Bets
Free Websites

A market researcher, at the very least, wants to find out demographics, what kind of income the market has, and who is spending money on a product. The sources here will start you on your way.

Mintel Academic
Grants easy and fast access to the same best-in-class consumer and market intelligence used by business professionals around the world.
MarketResearch.com Academic
Market research reports from leading research firms, as well as reports from MarketLooks. Subjects covered include consumer & personal products, demographics, engineering & construction, food & beverage, and more.
eMarketer
Provides information on digital marketing, media and commerce, offering insights essential to being effective in a digital world.
Statista
Features data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, including market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Note: For University of Denver faculty, students and staff only. Users of the Statista websites and subpages are granted a nonexclusive, non-transferable, limited right to access and use for research purposes the Online Service and Materials made available. Commercial use is strictly prohibited. No library walk-ins are allowed to use this database.
SimplyAnalytics
Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Account-creation optional but work will not be saved.
Limited to 5 concurrent users

Zip Code Look-Up (PRIZM/Claritas)
From Claritas, use the Zip Code Look-Up tool to find demographics for zip codes. Subscription required to access the full database.
Esri Zip Code Lookup Tool
Click on "Explore Your Zip Code" to identify the top three lifestyle characteristics of a zip code. A subscription is required to access the full database.
DATA USA
Comprehensive website and visualization engine of public US Government data. A collaborative project from Deloitte, Datawheel, and Cesar Hidalgo, Professor at the MIT Media Lab and Director of Collective Learning.
Gallup News
Featured news about public opinion.
Pew Research Center
"Nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world."

Esri Zip Code Lookup Tool
Click on "Explore Your Zip Code" to identify the top three lifestyle characteristics of a zip code. A subscription is required to access the full database.
Data Census Gov
This database from the U.S. Census provides information about people, including
Basic Counts
Education
Income
Employment
Race
Zip Code Look-Up (PRIZM/Claritas)
From Claritas, use the Zip Code Look-Up tool to find demographics for zip codes. Subscription required to access the full database.
Nielsen
Find current consumer trends related to television, music, movies, social networks, and more. (A full subscription is needed to access more information.)
American Time Use Survey
This source from the Bureau of Labor Statistics provides data on "the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing."

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

Marketing 2800 Research Guide

Best Bets