Library Guides: Equity in STEM: Finding Articles

Recommended article databases

Web of Science Core Collection (WOS)
Provides multidisciplinary coverage of high-impact scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited References Search to find articles that cite an author or work -- this allows you to track citations forward in time. Content dates from 1900 - present. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index.
Gender Studies Database
Covers the full spectrum of gender-engaged scholarship inside and outside academia.
ERIC (ProQuest)
The Educational Resource Information Center is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature.
Business Source Complete
Contains premium content of peer-reviewed, business related journals. Provides detailed company information for more than 1.1 million of the world's largest public and private companies.

A. Break your topic down into the main ideas, or keywords. Then combine your keywords into a search query:

Link main ideas together with AND to get fewer search results:

cookstove AND biofuel

Link related terms together with OR to get more search results:

biofuel OR biomass

B. Use quotation marks " " to search words as a phrase:

Searching “electronic control unit” excludes articles about metric units or electronic music.

BE AWARE – searching a phrase like “Grand Canyon National Park” in quotes excludes articles that just mention “Grand Canyon”

C. Use an asterisk * to search for multiple word endings:

synth* = synthetic OR synthesis OR synthesize, etc