It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Published since the Lincoln administration, these are the official communiques between the U.S. government and foreign governments. Originally classified, they can be declassified 30 years later (but usually later than that). Cuban relations can generally be found in volumes with “the Americas” in the title. Under the Kennedy administration, look for volumes titled, Cuba, 1961-1962 and volume XI; and Cuban Missile Crisis, 1962-1963.
Access previously-classified government documents from a range of U.S. agencies and departments including Central Intelligence Agency, National Security Council, Department of Defense, Department of State, Department of Justice, Department of Energy, White House, and the Federal Bureau of Investigation. Covers the inner workings of the U.S. government’s involvement in domestic and international events from 1911 to present.
Don’t let the name fool you. This collection includes not only Congressional materials (including hearings, legislative reports, CRS reports, and the Congressional Record), but also Executive Branch materials (Executive orders, presidential proclamations, and more).
Executive Orders, Proclamations, and other issuances can be found at this site back to the Clinton administration. Use this link to discover all Cuba-related issuances. For older issuances, these can be found in ProQuest Congressional (above).
This provides the easiest way to get the text of Presidential speeches, issuances, and even campaign speeches relating to Cuba. Use this link to execute a comprehensive search, then limit by Name and by Category to see results.
Public Papers of the Presidents
This famous series, published by the National Archives, began in 1957, but goes back retrospectively to the Hoover administration. The Government Publishing Office hosts the official online series. The set is complete from 1929 to recent (there is about a five year lag time for publication). Note that there is a gap for all the FDR years, since his papers were privately published. But HeinOnline has the Public Papers not only covering the GPO series, but also papers of all the Presidents, including FDR.
Contains the rich, comprehensive material found in leading historic periodicals and books., including eyewitness accounts of historical events, vivid descriptions of daily life, editorial observations, commerce as seen through advertisements, and genealogical records, all available in a user-friendly online environment.
The United States' principal historical record of political open source intelligence for more than half a century. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Thousands of titles chronicle centuries of American history, culture and daily life. Includes titles from all 50 present states. This database provides access to digitized versions of primary source material. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Search seamlessly across all Readex digital collections. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Cross-searchable collections include the following: African American Periodicals, America's Historical Imprints, America's Historical Newspapers, American State Papers, Foreign Broadcast Information Service (FBIS) Daily Reports, Joint Publications Research Service (JPRS) Reports, U.S. Congressional Serial Set, World Newspaper Archive.
Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Extended access to collections until June 30, 2022. A full-text database containing complete backfiles of over 2,000 core scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the first issues and dating from the 1800s to within three to five years ago.