The University Libraries collection is classified using the Library of Congress Subject Headings, a “controlled vocabulary.” By using these standardized terms, you’ll find precise resources for your topic no matter what terminology the author may have used. By simply copying a subject heading into the search tool of the University Libraries database, students will generate a list of potentially helpful resources. Suggested course-appropriate subject headings are listed below:

Rhetorical Criticism
Speeches, addresses, etc., American -- History and criticism
African Americans – Civil Rights
Feminism – United States
Students Civil Rights
Socialism -- United States
Abolitionists – United States
Women -- Suffrage -- United States
United States -- Economic conditions – History
Minorities – Civil rights – United States -- History
Civil rights movements – United States -- History
United States – Race Relations
United States – Ethnic relations

This small companion contains short considerations of the political significance of many of the speeches covered in this course. This volume may be used as a starting point for further reflection. A short bibliography appears at the end of each speech.

edited by Peter B. Levy ; foreword by William E. Leuchtenburg
Reference Stacks - E173 .A15 1994

John C. Calhoun, Frederick Douglass, Benjamin Franklin, William Lloyd Garrison, Thomas Jefferson, Abraham Lincoln, and Elizabeth Cady Stanton

Eugene Debs, Betty Friedan, Martin Luther King, Jr., Huey Long, Malcolm X, Robert Kennedy, and Presidents Johnson, Kennedy, and Roosevelt.

edited by Waldo E. Martin, Jr. and Patricia Sullivan.
New York : Macmillan Reference USA, c2000
Reference Stacks - E184.A1 C47 2000

This resource contains biographical material and the thematic outline of entries assists students in finding all the entries on a particular subject (i.e. Journalism and Print Media, Law and Legislation). The gender entry emphasizes the links between the abolition and the suffrage movements.

editor in chief, Paul Finkelman
ONLINE - E-Reference - E185 .E5453 2009eb

This resource contains biographical material and the thematic outline of entries assists students in finding all the entries on a particular subject (i.e. Journalism and Print Media, Law and Legislation). The gender entry emphasizes the links between the abolition and the suffrage movements.

editor in chief, Paul Finkelman
ONLINE - E-Reference - E185 .E545 2006eb

An outstanding source which attempts to “comprehend the ever-changing character and rich variety of American thought and expression.” Essays are more thorough than a typical encyclopedia; the work is structured chronologically, thematically (be sure to read the essay on rhetoric), and methodologically. Impressive bibliographies accompany each entry.

Mary Kupiec Cayton, Peter W. Williams, editors
Online

Each of the 16 sections of this work covers a major social movement in American history. Every topic contains an introduction, critical themes and events, biographical accounts, primary sources, and a bibliography.

Immanuel Ness, editor
Main Stacks - HN57 .E594 2004

Brief entries provide engaging reading on US economic and social history. Alphabetical listings are supplemented with era overviews to contextualize concepts across time, geography, and industry. Subjects covered include the Eugene Debs, Great Depression, the Great Society, and Reaganomics. A well cross-referenced index makes searching for topics simple.

Thomas Carson, editor ; Mary Bonk, associate editor

Useful essays on sociological issues present overviews on topics such as abolition, civil rights, economics, the feminist movement, Jeffersonian democracy, labor, social reform, and the SDS. Attention is paid to bring out the relationships between topics separated from one another geographically and across time. Biographical information is also featured.

Eric Foner and John A. Garraty; sponsored by the Society of American Historians
Online 2014