Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Database & Article Search
CQ Press Political Reference Suite of Online Editions
An excellent way to keep up-to-date on public policy issues, legislative research, and current events. Online editions include a stunning array of public policy reference sources concerning the executive, legislative, and judicial branches.
Provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day.
PAIS (Public Affairs Information Service) Index
Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.
Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection
Provides full text coverage for 25 journals published by SAGE and participating societies, some journals going back 24 years, encompassing over 10,000 articles. It covers such subjects as General Political Science, American Government & Politics, Political Sociology, Comparative Politics, Policy Studies, Political Communication, Peace / Conflict Studies, Presidential Studies, Political Theory / Philosophy, International Relations, and Area Studies. University of Denver Community...
Taylor & Francis Online Journals: Social Sciences & Humanities Collection
This is a searchable and browsable collection of over 550 journals in the social sciences including anthropology, area studies, communication, conflict and security studies, criminology, cultural studies, gender studies, health care, politics and international relations, religion, sociology, and tourism. Date coverage varies by journal, with some coverage back to 2002, other coverage back to 1996. University of Denver Community
Content types: Full Text
Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database by Ebscohost provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals.
World Politics Review
Provides access to comprehensive and detailed perspectives that are as valuable as they are rare. The content is much more current than that found in leading international affairs academic journals. Includes multiple areas of study, with thousands of articles in its archives. Covers topics of key relevance to foreign policy, international politics, and foreign affairs.
Encyclopedia of American Parties, Campaigns, and Elections
Hampden Stacks JK9 .B56 1999
Much of this book consists of easy-to-understand explanations of both common and complex political terms. Also provided are brief biographies of major political figures, descriptions of significant political parties and movements, and explanations of important cases about elections and campaign finance law decided by the Supreme Court of the United States.
The American Presidency Project (Online)
The American Presidency Project was established in 1999 as a collaboration between John Woolley and Gerhard Peters at the University of California, Santa Barbara. This site provides maps of election results for every presidential election from 1828-2004. Also included in this site are party platforms, debates, inaugural addresses, convention speeches, any many more documents relating to the presidency.
Statistics of the Presidential and Congressional Election of ...
Since 1920, the Clerk of the House has collected and published the official vote counts for federal elections from the official sources among the various states and territories.
A statistical history of the American electorate
JK1967 .R87 2001
This volume provides a wide range of election statistics from 1788-1999. Data presented in this source includes suffrage elections laws, voting participation rates, votes for President, House, Senate, or governor, and party competition rates for the votes of the American electorate.
The Almanac of American politics
Published every two years, this almanac provides profiles of every member of Congress and governor as well as in-depth and up-to-date narrative profiles of all 50 states and 435 House districts. Also included are detailed Congressional voting records and hard-to-find census data.
Guide to U.S. Elections 7th Edition, 2016, CQ (online)
Thoroughly revised and infused with new data, analysis, and discussion of issues relating to elections through 2015.
Congressional Quarterly's Guide to U.S. Elections
JK1967 .C662 2001
This guide gives the reader an overview of American elections and political parties as well as detailed information on the presidential, congressional, and gubernatorial elections.
Hampden Stacks JK1967 .A8
This source provides election statistics for each state. Information includes election returns for the President, House, Senate, and Governor elections, as well as general elections, primary, elections, and special elections.
Election Statistics, 1920 - present.
Developed by the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, this site provides the official vote counts for federal elections from 1920-2016.
U.S. Electoral College
Developed by the U.S National Archives and Records Administration, this site explains what the electoral college is, who the electors are, and how they vote. The site also gives historical election information and provides interactive features for understanding how the election process works.
Federal Election Commission
Provides information on campaign finance laws, enforcement matters, donations made to individual candidates, and much more.
Campaign Finance Site
Developed by the Hoover Institution at Stanford University, this site provides articles on a wide range of campaign finance issues including, history of campaign finance, current structure, Supreme Court cases, reform proposals, and reform legislation.
This site is run by the Center for Responsive Politics, which is a non-partisan, non-profit research group based in Washington D.C. that tracks money in politics, and its effect on elections and public policy. Basic campaign finance law is provided along with detailed statistical information, industry profiles,and databases.
The Campaign Finance Institute
The Campaign Finance Institute is a non-partisan, non-profit institute, affiliated with The George Washington University, that conducts objective research and education, empanels task forces and makes recommendations for policy change in the field of campaign finance.
Google Scholar Search
Note: You will need to change the Scholar setting to U. of Denver to retrieve DU content from off-campus.