Skip to main content

Music Research - Music Business and Careers: Home

FINDING BOOKS IN THIS AREA

Call Number Ranges for Music Business & Music Trade:

ML 3790-3792 - Music Trade

ML 3795 - Music as a Profession, Vocational Guides

COPYRIGHT AND LICENSING

IN ALPHABETICAL ORDER:

ASCAP

ASCAP is a membership association exceeding over 330,000 U.S. composers, songwriters, lyricists, and music publishers of all genres of music.

ASCAP Title Database

The ASCAP Title Database contains information about all the compositions in the ASCAP repertory which have appeared in any of ASCAP's domestic surveys, including foreign compositions licensed by ASCAP in the United States.

BMI

BMI is a performing right organization: It collects license fees on behalf of its songwriters, composers and music publishers and distributes them as royalties to those members whose works have been performed.

 

MUSIC BUSINESS - Basic Sources

Passman, Donald S. All You Need to Know about the Music Business. New York: Free Press, 2012. Music Library Stacks ML3790 .P35 2012

Hutchison, Thomas. Web Marketing for the Music Business. Burlington, MA: Focal Press, 2013. Internet ML3790 .H986 2013eb ONLINE

Baskerville, David. Music Business Handbook and Career Guide. Thousand Oaks, CA: Sage Publications, c2006. Music Library Reference  ML3795 .B33 2006

Davis, Sarah, and Dave Laing.The Guerilla Guide to the Music Business. New York: Continuum, 2006. Music Library Stacks ML3790 .D34 2006

Weiss, Mitch. Managing Artists in Pop Music: What Every Artist and Manager Must Know to Succeed. New York: Allworth Press, c2012. Internet ML3790 .W388 2012eb ONLINE

Weissman, Dick. Making a Living in Your Local Music Market: Realizing Your Marketing Potential. New York: Hal Leonard, 2010. Music Library Stacks ML3790 .W39 2010

 

COPYRIGHT AND LICENSING, cont.

Copyright for Music Librarians

This is a clearinghouse of links and information, with focus on academic and library issues.

Copyright Term and the Public Domain in the United States chart (Cornell)

This site is helpful for determining when works pass into the public domain; sound recordings are a separate category.

Music Publishers' Association (MPA) Copyright Resource Center  http://www.mpa.org/content/copyright-resource-center

http://www.mpa.org/content/copyright-resource-center

This non-profit association addresses itself to issues pertaining to every area of music publishing with an emphasis on the issues relevant to the publishers of print music for concert and educational purposes.

PlagiarismToday

This is a blog about various issues related to copyright and plagiarism in the digital age.

SESAC Repertory Database

The SESAC repertory database contains works in the SESAC repertory for which SESAC, Inc. has compiled information from various sources. The database lists songs or compositions, titles, composers, authors and publisher information on musical compositions.

US Copyright Office

Information about online copyright registration option, application forms for copyright registration, links to the copyright law, online copyright records cataloged since 1978, and more. . . .

Reference Librarian

Woody Colahan's picture
Woody Colahan
Contact:
303.871.6427
Subjects:Dance, Music, Theatre