Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Snow or Sports Related Sources
These sources include data related to sales of sports equipment in sources such as Sports Business Research Network, as well as demographic and economic data provided in the Kottke National End of Season Survey, Economic Analysis of United States Ski Areas. and the National Demographic Study.
Colorado Ski Country Statistics
Statistics on each resort and overall state visitors, acres of skiing, etc.
Snow Sports Industry Intelligence Report
Current edition at Reserve Desk. Older editions in Hamden GV840.7.U6 S66 (Print Only)
Published by SnowSports Industries America (SIA), this report "offers a compilation of research from over 10 different snow sports industry studies. It includes participation data, ski area visits, business trends, demographics, merchandise distribution and more."
Kottke National End of Season Survey
Print only: Current edition at Reserve Desk; Next ed. in Reference GV854.A1 R48; Older editions in Special Collections.
Published by the National Ski Areas Association (NSAA), this "survey is the industry's source for regional and national skier/snowboarder visit data. It examines the relationship between skier visits and other variables such as length of season lift capacity, night skiing and snowmaking."
Economic Analysis of United States Ski Areas
Print Only: Current ed. at Reserve Desk. Next ed. in Reference GV854.8.N58 G63; Older editions in Special Collections.
Prepared by United Ski Industries Association in conjunction with KPMG Peat Marwick.
National Demographic Study
Print only: Current edition at Reserve Desk; next edition in Reference GV854.4 .N385; Older editions in Special Collections.
An annual study of "demographic characteristics of skier and snowboarders over time" in the United States.
The Sporting Goods Market in ...
HD9992.U5 S657 (Print Only)
"A statistical study of retail sales for representative categories of sporting goods and recreational equipment." Prepared for the National Sporting Goods Association.
Sporting Goods Stores - Census Data
The National Sporting Goods Association presents data from the Census for this industry.
Esri Zip Code Lookup Tool
Use the Zip lookup tool to identify the top three lifestyle characteristics of a zip code. A subscription is required to access the full database.
Zip Code Look-Up
From Claritas, use the Zip Code Look-Up tool to find demographics for zip codes. Subscription required to access the full database.
Data Census Gov
This database from the U.S. Census provides information about people, including
Demographics of consumer demand. Find the best and biggest customers for hundreds of individual products and services. Published in 2014.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Datasets on employment, earnings, consumer and producer price indexes from U.S. Dept. of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. Go to Data Tools for list of datasets. See Public Data API for tools to retrieve.
County Business Patterns (CBP)
"CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll."
Census Home Page
U.S. Census Bureau home page. The official site for U.S. economic, demographic, and social statistics.
Household Spending : Who Spends How Much and on What.
2014 ed. of this source presents data on consumer spending, including apparel, entertainment, financial products and services, health care, gifts, housing, and transportation. Provides an overview of spending trends.
The Millennials : Americans Born 1977 to 1994
Statistical information on the attitudes and behavior, education, health, income, labor force, living arrangements, popoulation, spending and wealth of young adults born from 1977 to 1994. Published in 2015.