It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Use this database to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. Full-text searching of millions of pages allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Features the newspapers, periodicals, pamphlets and broadsheets that form the Nichols newspaper collection held at the Bodleian library in Oxford, UK. All 296 volumes of bound material, covering the period 1672-1737 are presented in digitized format.
These 200 years of accounts are essential to the study of British history and culture at crucial periods in the nation’s development as a world power. With the East and West India Companies and its military strength, England was the center of trade, power and culture during this period. This collection gives new freshness and immediacy to historical events and reflects the cultural trends, political currents and social problems of the day.
The Guardian (1821-2003) and its sister paper, The Observer (1791-2003), both part of the ProQuest Historical Newspaper program, give readers online access to facts, firsthand accounts, and opinions of the day about the most significant and fascinating political, business, sports, literary, and entertainment events from the past two centuries.
When it was founded in 1817, The Scotsman was so radical that it was considered "incendiary." Today, it continues to provide an independent voice and uniquely Scottish analysis of local and global events.
Brings together manuscript, printed and visual primary source materials for the study of 'Empire' and it's theories, practices and consequences. The materials span across the last five centuries and are accompanied by a host of secondary learning resources including scholarly essays, maps and an interactive chronology.
Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
Over 120,000 pages of original documents relating to Gender Studies. Images are sourced from British and European libraries and archives, including a strong core of document images from the Bodleian Library, Oxford and the British Library.
From British Online Archives: "Follow the slave trade from Africa and America to Britain through these records. See who traded in slaves, read accounts of their transportation and learn about the plantations where they were forced to work. Then uncover the philosophies that endorsed or fought against the existence of this trade in people." [I believe we have access to all subsets of this collection.]
The Grand Tour was a rite-of-passage for many aristocratic and wealthy young men of the eighteenth century: a phenomenon which shaped the creative and intellectual sensibilities of some of the eighteenth century’s greatest artists, writers and thinkers. This database highlights the influence of continental travel on British art, architecture, urban planning, literature and philosophy.
Featuring rare manuscript and early printed material, highly illustrated maps and documents, diaries and ships' logs from some of the most well-known voyages in history, this collection provides access to key events in the history of European maritime exploration from c.1420-1920. Contains some film footage and audio.