Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Eighteenth Century Collections Online (ECCO)
Use this database to access the digital images of every page of books published during the 18th Century. Full-text searching of millions of pages allows researchers new methods of access to critical information in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.
Eighteenth Century Drama
Explore how the Larpent plays reflect the politics of the time, the role of women, views on race and religion, opinions on empire, and European and British history.
Brings together 96 complete works of English prose from the period 1700-1780 by writers from the British Isles.
Provides access to the searchable full text of hundreds of periodicals from the late seventeenth century to the mid twentieth, comprising millions of high-resolution facsimile page images.
19th Century UK Periodicals
Covers British life in the Victorian age and the events, lifestyles, values and ideas that shaped the world during this milestone period.
17th-18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers
These 200 years of accounts are essential to the study of British history and culture at crucial periods in the nation’s development as a world power. With the East and West India Companies and its military strength, England was the center of trade, power and culture during this period. This collection gives new freshness and immediacy to historical events and reflects the cultural trends, political currents and social problems of the day.
Times Digital Archive
First published in 1785, The Times of London is widely considered to be the world's 'newspaper of record'. Allows users to search over 200 years of this invaluable historical source.
Sunday Times Digital Archive 1822-2006
The Sunday Times launched itself on the world on 20th October 1822, promising to instill "an invigorating spirit" in its readership, and uphold the freedom of the press against those "emperors, kings, and their ministers" who would stifle it.