SOWK 4764 Historical Trauma and Healing: Primary Sources
This is a course-specific guide covering resources for studying historical trauma in order to provide context for social work practice with communities experiencing historical trauma.
Focusing predominantly on Atlanta, Chicago, St. Louis, New York, and towns and cities in North Carolina this resource presents multiple aspects of the African American community through pamphlets, newspapers and periodicals, correspondence, official records, reports and in-depth oral histories, revealing the prevalent challenges of racism, discrimination and integration, and a unique African American culture and identity.
Allows users to explore manuscripts, artwork and rare printed books dating from the earliest contact with European settlers right up to photographs and newspapers from the mid-twentieth century. Browse through a wide range of rare and original documents from treaties, speeches and diaries, to historic maps and travel journals.
Brings together a wide range of written ethnographies, field notes, seminal texts, memoirs, and contemporary studies, covering human behavior the world over. Essential for study in the areas of politics, economics, history, psychology, environmental studies, religion, area studies, linguistics, and geography. (Included are Early Encounters in North America and North American Indian Thought and Culture)
"Born in Slavery: Slave Narratives from the Federal Writers' Project, 1936-1938 contains more than 2,300 first-person accounts of slavery and 500 black-and-white photographs of former slaves. These narratives were collected in the 1930s as part of the Federal Writers' Project of the Works Progress Administration (WPA)..." See the excellent introduction to the collection by Norman Yetman.
Offers access to a unique collection of manuscript and printed material from the archives of the British government, one invaluable for students and researchers of all aspects of seventeenth and eighteenth-century American history.
"Densho is a nonprofit organization started in 1996, with the initial goal of documenting oral histories from Japanese Americans who were incarcerated during World War II. This evolved into a mission to educate, preserve, collaborate and inspire action for equity. Densho uses digital technology to preserve and make accessible primary source materials on the World War II incarceration of Japanese Americans."
Captures the lives, experiences and colonial encounters of people living at the edges of the Anglophone world from 1650-1920. Various colonial frontiers of North America including Canada, American East, Midwest, Southwest & California as well as African expeditions, Southern Africa, Australia, and New Zealand.
Sources collections from Canadian and American institutions, providing insight into the cultural, political and social history of Native Peoples from the seventeenth (17th) into the twentieth (20th) century. Includes diverse manuscripts, book collections, and newspapers from various tribe and Indian-related organizations.
A collection of women's diaries and correspondence spanning more than 300 years, bringing the personal experiences of some 1,325 women to researchers, students, and general readers.
Grants researchers access to digitized letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, and much more.
Includes the following collections: American Indians and the American West, 1809-1971; American Politics and Society from Kennedy to Watergate; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records, Supplement; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 1; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Organizational Records and Personal Papers, Part 2; Confederate Military Manuscripts and Records of Union Generals and the Union Army; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Africa, Middle East, 1960-1969; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Asia, 1960-1969; Confidential U.S. State Department Central Files, Europe and Latin America, 1960-1969; FBI Confidential Files and Radicalism in the U.S., 1945-1972; Immigration: Records of the INS, 1880-1930; Law and Society since the Civil War: American Legal manuscripts from the Harvard Law School Library; NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files; NAACP Papers: Special Subjects; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses; New Deal and World War II: President Franklin D. Roosevelt's Office Files and Records of Federal Agencies; Office of Strategic Services (OSS) and State Department Intelligence and Research Reports, 1941-1961; Slavery and the Law; Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records, Part 1; Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantation Records, Part 2; Struggle for Women's Rights, Organizational Records, 1880-1990; Thomas A. Edison Papers; U.S. Diplomatic Post Records, 1914-1945; U.S. Military Intelligence Reports, 1911-1944; Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960–1975; Women at Work during WWII: Rosie the Riveter and the Women’s Army Corps; Women's Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive Rights; Workers, Labor Unions, and the American Left in the 20th Century: Federal Records; World War II: U.S. Documents on Planning, Operations, Intelligence, Axis War Crimes, and Refugees; World War I: Records of the American Expeditionary Forces, and Diplomacy in the World War I Era (1915-1927); Reconstruction and Military Government after the Civil War (1865-1877); Records of the Children's Bureau, 1912-1969; American Politics in the Early Cold War: Truman and Eisenhower Administrations, 1945-1961; Students for a Democratic Society, Vietnam Veterans Against the War, and the Anti-Vietnam War Movement; Labor Unions in the U.S., 1862-1974: Knights of Labor, AFL, CIO, and AFL-CIO; Margaret Sanger Papers: Smith College Collections and Collected Documents; Robert M. La Follette Papers from the Wisconsin Historical Society; Confidential British Foreign Office Political Correspondence: World War I; Creation of Israel: British Foreign Office Correspondence on Palestine and Transjordan, 1940-1948; Progressive Era: Reform, Regulation, and Rights; Slavery in Antebellum Southern Industries; Nazi Looted Art and Assets: Records on the Post-World War II Restitution Process, 1942-1998
Understand and analyze Native American migration and resettlement throughout U.S. history as well as U.S. Government Indian removal policies and subsequent actions to address Native American claims.
Includes collections on the transatlantic slave trade, the global movement for the abolition of slavery, the legal, personal, and economic aspects of the slavery system, and the dynamics of emancipation in the U.S. as well as in Latin America, the Caribbean, and other regions.
A collection of audiovisual interviews and testimonies with witnesses and survivors of the Holocaust and other genocides.
All users must create an individual account to use this resource.
Edward Sheriff Curtis published The North American Indian between 1907 and 1930 with the intent to record traditional Indian cultures. The work comprises twenty volumes of narrative text and photogravure images. Each volume is accompanied by a portfolio of large photogravure plates. Northwestern University. NOTE: We recommend that anyone who is not a descendant of the individuals depicted reach out to the Tribal Historic Preservation Office for the nation to seek permission for your specific use. Current contact information is maintained on most nation’s websites.
Call Number: Available online in Alexander Street Press Early Encounters in North America
Publication Date: 1907-1930
NOTE: We recommend that anyone who is not a descendant of the individuals depicted reach out to the Tribal Historic Preservation Office for the nation to seek permission for your specific use. Current contact information is maintained on most nation’s websites.
Blog post by photographer Matika Wilbur, May 8, 2018. Matika Wilbur (Swinomish and Tulalip) is one of the nation’s leading photographers, based in the Pacific Northwest. She earned her BFA from Brooks Institute of Photography where she double majored in Advertising and Digital Imaging. Her most recent endeavor, Project 562, has brought Matika to over 300 tribal nations dispersed throughout 40 U.S. states where she has taken thousands of portraits, and collected hundreds of contemporary narratives from the breadth of Indian Country all in the pursuit of one goal: To Change The Way We See Native America.
The Cambodian Women's Oral History Project collects testimonials from women who survived the genocidal Khmer Rouge regime that ruled Cambodia between 1975-1979. The project is run by Dr. Theresa de Langis with Cambodian students and young graduates. Unique in its life story approach, the project aims to increase understanding of the ways in which women were uniquely impacted by the atrocity, including as victims of widespread sexual violence and gender-based abuse. This is a story that has been silenced and neglected for close to 40 years.
The Duke Collection of American Indian Oral History online provides access to typescripts of interviews (1967 -1972) conducted with hundreds of Indians in Oklahoma regarding the histories and cultures of their respective nations and tribes. Related are accounts of Indian ceremonies, customs, social conditions, philosophies, and standards of living. University of Oklahoma, Western History Collections.
American Indians have eagerly served a government which did not always keep its word to their ancestors. All of the Native Americans featured here volunteered to serve in conflicts from World War II to Iraq. Library of Congress.
The Indian-Pioneer Papers oral history collection spans from 1861 to 1936. It includes typescripts of interviews conducted during the 1930s by government workers with thousands of Oklahomans regarding the settlement of Oklahoma and Indian territories, as well as the condition and conduct of life there. Consisting of approximately 80,000 entries, the index to this collection may be accessed via personal name, place name, or subject. University of Oklahoma, Western History Collections.
On June 9, 1990, at the Minnesota State Capitol, the Minnesota Lawyers International Human Rights Committee held a mock trial of the Khmer Rouge leadership for the crime of genocide. Members of Minnesota’s Khmer (Cambodian) immigrant community served as witnesses in the mock trial, emotionally recounting their personal experiences in the years 1975-79, a period in which an estimated 1.7 million people were killed by the Khmer Rouge-led government of Cambodia. At the conclusion of the mock trial, a panel of Minnesota public officials serving as members of the "International Court of Justice" found Khmer Rouge leader, Pol Pot, and his agents guilty of the crime of genocide.
The 1990 mock trial led to the Khmer Oral History Project, during which members of the Khmer community were interviewed on videotape about their experiences during the years of the genocide in Cambodia, their experiences in refugee camps, and their emigration to the United States. Each interview includes a transcript, available in English and Khmer as appropriate. Copyright in the interviews is held by Minnesota Advocates for Human Rights.
Oral history transcripts for the Native American collections, including the Lumbee, Cherokee, Catawba, and more, are available online at the University of Florida Digital Collections.
Transcripts of recordings made with Navajo Indians as part of the American Indian Oral History Collection. They are mainly interviews with reservation Navajos, but also include recordings of community meetings and some interviews with non-Navajos who lived on or near the reservation. Many of the transcripts document personal and family histories with information on social culture, education, ceremonies, legends, language, religion, economy, government and history. The recordings were made by University of New Mexico graduate students, 1967-1972. University of New Mexico Digital Collections.
Provides extensive news coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. Features the vast majority of U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with almost one thousand hard-to-find local and regional titles, and offers searchable news video clips and over two thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Provides access to U.S. newspapers from more than 35 states chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Thousands of titles chronicle centuries of American history, culture and daily life. Includes titles from all 50 present states. This database provides access to digitized versions of primary source material. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Provides continuous newspaper runs of vital primary source materials essential for the study of U.S. history, African-American history, culture, politics, genealogy, the arts, media, and communications.
Brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.
Offers a diversity of unabridged voices, ranging from intellectuals and literary notables to politicians, union organizers and grassroots figures. Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Historical newspapers including The American Hebrew & Jewish Messenger (1857-1922), The American Israelite (1854-1922), The Jewish Advocate (1905-1990), & The Jewish Exponent (1887-1990)
