Library Guides: SOWK 4764 Historical Trauma and Healing: Databases

Subject Databases

Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.
PsycINFO
The American Psychological Association's (APA) renowned resource for abstracts of scholarly journal articles, book chapters, books, and dissertations.
Also found as PsychInfo
PubMed (includes MEDLINE)
The most comprehensive medical database. This resource covers medicine, dentistry, nursing, physical therapy, biomedical research, clinical practice, administration, policy issues, and health care services. This public version provides a Clinical Queries search interface. In addition to MEDLINE, PubMed includes articles that are waiting to be processed for MEDLINE, as well as extra life sciences journals and ebooks not included in MEDLINE.
Sociological Abstracts
Abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.
Anthropology Plus
Brings together Harvard University's Anthropological Literature and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute) to provide comprehensive coverage of anthropological literature.
ERIC (ProQuest)
The Educational Resource Information Center is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Education to provide extensive access to education-related literature.
America: History and Life
Full text, indexes, and abstracts of journal articles, book reviews and dissertations covering the entire period of U.S. and Canadian history (prehistory-present).
Art & Architecture Complete
Provides full-text coverage of hundreds of periodicals and books, as well as cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for nearly a thousand academic journals, magazines and trade publications and books.

Keyword search terms

"historical trauma"; intergenerational trauma"; "multigenerational trauma"; "transgenerational trauma"; "race related trauma"; "cultural trauma"; "race based trauma"; "post traumatic slave syndrome";

colonization (coloni*); oppression

decolonization/decolonisation; resilience; healing; resistance; coping behavior

PsycINFO Subject Headings

Trauma

Emotional Trauma

Transgenerational Patterns

Slavery

Genocide

Indigenous Populations

American Indians

Blacks

Holocaust Survivors

Intergenerational Relations

Health Disparities

Reslience (Psychology)

Narratives

Storytelling

Multidisciplinary Databases

Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database by Ebscohost provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals.
Compass (Search All)
A discovery tool that searches University Libraries' digital and print journals, books, newspapers, dissertations, and Library Catalog.
Google Scholar
Enables users to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
Web of Science Core Collection (WOS)
Provides multidisciplinary coverage of high-impact scholarly literature in the sciences, social sciences, arts, and humanities. Use the unique Cited References Search to find articles that cite an author or work -- this allows you to track citations forward in time. Content dates from 1900 - present. Includes Science Citation Index Expanded, Social Sciences Citation Index, Arts & Humanities Citation Index, and Emerging Sources Citation Index.

Government Documents

ProQuest Legislative Insight
Features thoroughly researched compilations of digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.

Art and Media Databases

Academic Video Online
Thousands of streaming videos from a large number of produces and distributors across a wide range of subject areas.
Artstor on JSTOR
A nonprofit resource that provides over 2 million images, videos, panoramas, and audio files contributed by museums, galleries, and other cultural organizations around the world. Artstor is now integrated with robust primary source collections accessible on JSTOR.
Docuseek2
Provides exclusive educational streaming access to important films from renowned leaders in documentary distribution.
Includes Bullfrog Films, Icarus Films (including The Fanlight Collection and dGenerate Films), Kartemquin Films, KimStim, the National Film Board of Canada, and Terra Nova Films.
Kanopy
Transforming learning through video. Subjects covered include Business/Training, Health, Media/Communications, Sciences, Humanities, Education (K-12). Users can search, browse and see previews of videos. Kanopy is a mediated resource through which DU faculty, students, and staff may request feature films for purchase, and DU affiliates may view library-licensed films.
Rhizome
An online platform for the global new media art community to support the creation, presentation, discussion and preservation of contemporary art that uses new technologies in significant ways.

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

SOWK 4764 Historical Trauma and Healing: Databases