Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sources - Table of Contents
When doing market research the investigator, at the very least, wants to find out demographics, what kind of income the market has, and who is spending money on a product. The sources here will help with this process.
Grants easy and fast access to the same best-in-class consumer and market intelligence used by business professionals around the world.
Market research reports from leading research firms, as well as reports from MarketLooks. Subjects covered include consumer & personal products, demographics, engineering & construction, food & beverage, and more.
Features data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, including market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Note: For University of Denver faculty, students and staff only. Users of the Statista websites and subpages are granted a nonexclusive, non-transferable, limited right to access and use for research purposes the Online Service and Materials made available. Commercial use is strictly prohibited. No library walk-ins are allowed to use this database.
Internet-based mapping application that enables users to develop interactive thematic maps and reports using thousands of demographic, business, and marketing data variables. Account-creation optional but work will not be saved.
Limited to 5 concurrent users
Provides information on digital marketing, media and commerce, offering insights essential to being effective in a digital world.
Provides quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information.
Data Census Gov
This database from the U.S. Census provides information about people, including
County Business Patterns (CBP)
"CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll."
Esri Zip Code Lookup Tool
Use the Zip lookup tool to identify the top three lifestyle characteristics of a zip code. A subscription is required to access the full database.
Zip Code Look-Up
From Claritas, use the Zip Code Look-Up tool to find demographics for zip codes. Subscription required to access the full database.
Census Business Builder
This tool can help you determine the best location for your business.
Find current consumer trends related to television, music, movies, social networks, and more. (A full subscription is needed to access more information.)
Data results from the 2010 Census.
American Time Use Survey
This source from the Bureau of Labor Statistics provides data on "the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing."
An interactive site allowing you to find information using zip codes, demographics and displaying results using percentile ranks (0-99). Difficult to verify its authority or how data is obtained.
Consumer Expenditure Survey
Data provided by the Bureau of Labor Statistics on "the buying habits of American consumers, including data on their expenditures, income, and consumer unit (families and single consumers) characteristics."
Library Online Reference Sources
The Millennials : Americans Born 1977 to 1994
Statistical information on the attitudes and behavior, education, health, income, labor force, living arrangements, popoulation, spending and wealth of young adults born from 1977 to 1994. Published in 2015.
Older Americans : A Changing Market
This source provides "the characteristics of the older population today and tomorrow. It details the lifestyles, incomes, and spending patterns of people aged 55 and older." Published in 2012.
American Incomes : Demographics of Who Has Money
This 2016 online source "looks at household income trends by age, household type, race and ethnicity, education, region of residence, and work status...It includes an analysis of hard-to-get discretionary income figures, produced by New Strategists' statisticians specifically for this book."
The Baby Boom : Americans Born 1946 to 1964
This 2015 source provides insights for this demographic in a number of areas (e.g., attitudes, health, spending).
Demographics of consumer demand. Find the best and biggest customers for hundreds of individual products and services. Published in 2014.
Generation X : Americans Born 1965 to 1976
Published in 2015, this source provides statistical information on the attitudes and behavior, education, health, income, labor force, living arrangements, popoulation, spending and wealth of young adults born from 1965 to 1976.
Household Spending : Who Spends How Much and on What.
2014 ed. of this source presents data on consumer spending, including apparel, entertainment, financial products and services, health care, gifts, housing, and transportation. Provides an overview of spending trends.