Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

WRIT 1x33 -- Dr. Taczak's Writing Classes

Multidisciplinary databases

A database with a wide subject coverage will give you a broad perspective on your topic.

Getting started with subject-specific databases

The question of "what's the single best database for Subject X" can be a highly contentious question (these are Meg's picks -- she's a science & engineering librarian, just FYI). The databases below are a great place to start your research in a particular subject area, although searching one database alone won't give you the full picture if you're trying to create a comprehensive literature review.

Don't find anything in one database? Try different search terms, or try another of our 900+ databases.

Art & Art History

Biology

Business

Chemistry

Communication, Journalism, & Media Studies

Education

Engineering and Computer Science

Environmental Studies

Gender Studies

Geography & Geography

Geology is an incredibly multidisciplinary topic -- the multidisciplinary databases will serve you well, as well as subject-specific databases that relate to your chosen topic. For geologists, you have a database idol, and its name is GeoRef.

Health & Medicine

History & Culture

International Studies & Political Science

Law & Legal Studies

Literature

Music

Philosophy & Religious Studies

Psychology

Sociology

Theatre & Dance