Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Grant Oppotunities for MA and PhD Students
JOHN SIMON GUGGENHEIM MEMORIAL FELLOWSHIP (US & CANADA)
PURPOSE: To further the development of scholars and artists by assisting them to engage in research in any field of knowledge.
ELIGIBILITY: Citizens and permanent residents of the United States and Canada
DETAILS: Forty regular fellowships and two post-doctoral fellowships for study at a British university. Fellowships last two years.
ELIGIBILITY: US citizens who hold a bachelor's degree with a GPA over 3.7
SSRC INTERNATIONAL DISERTATION FIELD RESEARCH FELLOWSHIPS
PURPOSE: Support for social scientists and humanists conducting dissertation field research in all areas and regions of the world.
ELIGIBILITY: Full-time graduate students in the humanities and social sciences - regardless of citizenship - enrolled in doctoral programs in the United States.
DAAD Research and Study Opportunities
PURPOSE: Research or study in Germany
ELIGIBILITY: US and Canadian citizens
GETTY PRE-DOCTORAL FELLOWSHIP GRANTS
ELIGIBILITY: Scholars of all nationalities in the arts, humanities, or social sciences. Pre-doctoral applicants must have advanced to candidacy by the time of award and expect to complete their dissertations during the fellowship period. Pre-doctoral fellows who receive their doctorate while in residence automatically become post-doctoral fellows.
AMERICAN RESEARCH INSTITUTE IN TURKEY FELLOWSHIP PROGRAMS
PURPOSE: Dissertation research on ancient, medieval, or modern times in Turkey for periods between four months and one year.
ELIGIBILITY: US citizens/ permanent residents and Canadian citizens. Non-U.S. citizen applicants must be affiliated with U.S. or Canadian institutions. Applicants must be ABD at the time of application.
WENNER-GREN DISSERTATION FIELDWORK GRANTS.
PURPOSE: Grants awarded to individuals enrolled in a doctoral program to support dissertation research.
ELIGIBILITY: Applicants must be engaged in research that contributes to anthropological knowledge and must be enrolled for a doctoral degree. Any nationality or country of residence may apply.
PAUL AND DAISY SOROS FELLOWSHIPS FOR NEW AMERICANS
PURPOSE: Thirty fellowships awarded each year for up to two years of study at a US institution towards a graduate degree in any professional field or scholarly discipline
ELIGIBILITY: A New American is an individual who (1) is a resident alien; i.e., holds a Green Card or, (2) has been naturalized as a US citizen or (3) is the child of two parents who are both naturalized citizens (4) no more than thirty years old.
MELLON / ACLS DISSERTATION COMPLETION FELLOWSHIPS
PURPOSE: To assist graduate students in the last year of dissertation writing.
ELIGIBILITY: Ph.D. candidates in a humanities or social science department in the United States, who have all the requirements for the Ph.D. completed except the dissertation and who are no more than six years in the degree program.
CHARLOTTE W. NEWCOMBE DOCTORAL DISSERTATION FELLOWSHIPS
PURPOSE: Research on ethical or religious values in the humanities and social sciences.
ELIGIBILITY: Applicants must be candidates for PhD or ThD degrees in doctoral programs at graduate schools in the United States. In the writing stage of the dissertation. Usually, this means that fieldwork or other research is complete and writing has begun by the time of the award.
FULBRIGHT-HAYS DOCTORAL DISSERTATION RESEARCH ABROAD
PURPOSE: Dissertation research support for periods of six to twelve months.
ELIGIBILITY: Citizens, nationals and permanent residents of the United States. Proposals focusing on Western Europe are not eligible, but may travel to Western Europe to work on non-Western European topic when sources not available in US. Application must be submitted through the appropriate channels at his/her university.
IREX ADVANCED RESEARCH OPPORTUNITIES PROGRAM
DETAILS: Overseas research on contemporary political, economic, historical, or cultural developments relevant to US foreign policy
ELIGIBILITY: Must be enrolled in a PhD program during the grant period. Non-US nationals are eligible. Check website for eligible countries of research focus.
AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITY WOMEN FELLOWSHIP
PURPOSE: Support women doctoral candidates completing dissertations.
ELIGIBILITY: US citizenship
FORD FOUNDATION DIVERSITY FELLOWSHIPS
PURPOSE: Increase the racial and ethnic diversity of the nation's college and university faculties by awarding approximately 60 pre-doctoral fellowships and 35 dissertation year fellowships annually. Pre-doctoral fellowships provide three years of support for individuals engaged in graduate study leading to a PhD or ScD.
ELIGIBILITY: Must be enrolled in a PhD or ScD program. Humanities, Social Sciences, and Hard Sciences eligible. Applicants must be citizens, nationals, or permanent residents of the United States, or have deferred action status under DACA.
MELLON FELLOWSHIPS FOR DISSERTATION RESEARCH IN ORIGINAL SOURCES
PURPOSE: Dissertation research support for doctoral students in Humanities, especially those conducting research on newly available or little studied sources. Offered through CLIR – Council for Libraries and Information Resources.
ELIGIBILITY: Doctoral students in the humanities who have completed all requirements except the dissertation and will be ready to start research (to be conducted primarily in archives, libraries, museums, etc.) by June 1 of the year the fellowship is awarded. Applicants may be of any nationality, but must be enrolled in a U.S. graduate school and be studying in the United States.
CUSHWA CENTER FOR THE STUDY OF AMERICAN CATHOLICISM
PURPOSE: This is a travel grant intended to foster research in the archives and library of the University of Notre Dame.
ELIGIBILITY: Scholars of any academic discipline doing research related to the study of American Catholicism.
AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF UNIVERSITY WOMEN FELLOWSHIP
PURPOSE: Full-time dissertation writing, research, or study grants for women who are not U.S. citizens or permanent residents and intend to return to their home after completing their studies.
ELIGIBILITY: Women who are international graduates or postgraduates at accredited American institutions.
GAIUS CHARLES BOLIN DISSERTATION FELLOWSHIP
PURPOSE: Grants for two-year residencies at Williams College (Williamstown, Mass.).
ELIGIBILITY: US citizens from underrepresented groups (ethnic minorities, those who are first-generation college graduates, women in predominately male fields, or disabled scholars), working toward the Ph.D.
PURPOSE: Fellowships for doctoral students from US universities to conduct nine months of research in France in STEM fields or the Humanities.
ELIGIBILITY: Must be Ph.D. candidate in an American university. Non-US citizens are eligible.
INSTITUTE FOR HUMANE STUDIES FELLOWSHIPS
PURPOSE: Awarded to students planning academic careers and with a research interest that contributes to the advancement of classical liberal scholarship.
ELIGIBILITY: Students enrolled in a Ph.D. program, with preference given to students in the United States, Canada, or the UK.
UNITED STATES INSTITUTE OF PEACE - PEACE SCHOLAR DISSERTATION FELLOWSHIP
PURPOSE: For students at US universities researching and writing doctoral dissertations on international conflict and peace.
ELIGIBILITY: Citizens of any country are eligible.
JOSEPHINE DE KÁRMÁN FELLOWSHIP
PURPOSE: Support study carried out in and all funds expended within US.
ELIGIBILITY: Ph.D. candidate in any discipline who will defend his/her dissertation by the following academic year. Open to foreign students already enrolled in a US university.
HARRY FRANK GUGGENHEIM FOUNDATION DISSERTATION FELLOWSHIP
PURPOSE: For dissertations that promise to increase understanding of the causes, manifestations, and control of violence, aggression, and dominance.
ELIGIBILITY: Applicants should be entering their final year of doctoral work. Citizens from any country are eligible to apply.
INSTITUTE FOR TURKISH STUDIES – DISSERTATION GRANT
PURPOSE: Support dissertation writing for graduate students in the social sciences or the humanities, who have completed all the requirements for the Ph.D., except their dissertation by June 1 of the award year.
ELIGIBILITY: These grants are for advanced students who have finished the research stage of their dissertation and are writing on some aspect of Turkey.
DUKE CENTER RESEARCH FELLOWSHIPS IN JEWISH STUDIES AND THE HEBREW BIBLE
PURPOSE: “To support scholars, students, and independent researchers whose work would benefit from access to the Judaica materials held by the Rubenstein Library, the Duke Divinity School Library, and/or Perkins Library.”
ELIGIBILITY: Faculty members, graduate/undergraduate students, and independent scholars who live within a 100-mile radius of Duke.
MILLSTONE RESEARCH FELLOWSHIP
PURPOSE: To conduct research in archives, libraries, or other repositories in France related to French history and culture.
ELIGIBILITY: Doctoral students, untenured and adjunct faculty members, and independent scholars who reside in North America.
NEW YORK PUBLIC LIBRARY SHORT-TERM RESEARCH FELLOWSHIPS
PURPOSE: To support visiting scholars conducting research in the Library’s research and special collections. Fellowship stipends are available to scholars from outside the New York metropolitan area engaged in graduate level, post-doctoral, or independent research. Scholars researching in the humanities are welcome to apply.
ELIGIBILITY: Applicants must be U.S. citizens, permanent residents, or foreign nationals who have been resident in the United States for the three years.
SOUTHERN HISTORICAL COLLECTION – UNC CHAPEL HILL DISSERTATION FELLOWSHIP PROGRAM
PURPOSE: For dissertations with relevance to the American South that will make use of the Special Collections at UNC Chapel Hill. Research on various aspects of southern history (race relations, women, literary culture, traditions, antebellum period, etc.
ELIGIBILITY: Ph.D. students who are U.S. citizens or permanent residents, plus some foreign nationals.
SWARTHMORE COLLEGE PEACE COLLECTION FELLOWSHIPS
PURPOSE: Travel support for research in Swarthmore’s Peace Collection and the Friends Historical Library, on projects related to peace movements, civil rights, and/or Quakers.
ELIGIBILITY: Faculty, graduate students, and scholars.
IDA B. WELLS GRADUATE STUDENT FELLOWSHIP
PURPOSE: Dissertation support for a doctoral student working on a historical dissertation (in any department) that interrogates race and gender. Intended to support research or writing.
ELIGIBILITY: Graduate students, must be member of the Coordinating Council for Women in History ($20 annual membership).