Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Databases for Industry Overviews
Industry overviews can give you an idea of what is going on in an industry. Some of the things you can do with the information you get from them is determine trends and identify the type of competition in the industry.
The subscription databases listed below provide profiles and overviews for a wide range of industries. Use your NAICS or SIC code to search in First Research and the NAICS code in IBISWorld.
Click on the "Statistics" tab of this research guide for data related to the ski industry, as well as for hotels.
Provides thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information with expert analysis about economic, demographic and government data.
First Research (Mergent)
Provides industry profiles within the wide range of industries that fall under Construction and Real Estate; Public Services, Education, Recreation; Retail, Food and Agriculture; Services; Manufacturing; Technology and Communications; Transportation, Energy, Storage; and Wholesale. Note: Subscription allows five simultaneous users.
Business Source Complete
Contains premium content of peer-reviewed, business related journals. Provides detailed company information for more than 1.1 million of the world's largest public and private companies.
Provides business intelligence for countries, consumers, and industries worldwide.
Includes multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Provides company information and industry surveys on 52 major U.S. industries.
Casinos, Gaming, and Wagering
This annual publication fom Richard K. Miller & Associates provides "Market summary -- Market characteristics & trends -- Profiles of key players", etc. about the industry. 2010-2013.
Hotels & Motels Industry Profile
This report produced by Marketline provides industry information for the U.S. as well as globally. Analysis using Porter's five forces are included in these publications. It is available via Business Source Complete. In order to retrieve these reports do the following search once you are in BSC: hotels and motels industry profile
Hotels & Motels in North America
Marketline report about this industry in North America.
U. S. Hotels & Motels Industry (NAICS 72111) - 2020.
This Barnes report offers information on the U.S. hotels and motels industry including data on establishments, firms and payroll, industry rentals, and estimated cost of materials in metropolitan areas from 2013 to 2015. A glossary of terms and definitions used in the report is also provided which include terms such as number of establishments, sales, shipments, receipts, revenue, and business done.