Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Images and Videos
Contains photographs, audio sound bites, graphics, and text spanning over 160 years of history.
A nonprofit resource that provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
American History in Video
Allows students and researchers to analyze historical events, and their presentation over time, through commercial and governmental newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and important documentaries.
Limited to 3 concurrent users.
A wide array of images from across the disciplines, but quality can be uneven and may not include attribution of original source. If you plan to post images found via Google on the Web or use them in a publication, ensure you have permissions from the original source.
Seeks to preserve and offer access, not only to born-digital content, but to digitized content in various formats (text, audio, video, and software), and to archived Web pages. Its partners for content include the Library of Congress and Smithsonian.
- Prints & Photographs Online Catalog: Library of Congress
PPOC contains catalog records and digital images representing a rich cross-section of still pictures held by the Prints & Photographs Division of the massive Library of Congress collection. Holdings include photographs, fine & popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting history of the U.S. & the lives,interests and achievements of the American people.
- American Memory Collection - Library of Congress
These collections cover all of the U.S. Regarding use: "The Restriction Statement that accompanies each American Memory collection provides known information regarding ownership of materials in the collection. If known, contacts for permission are included. In some cases the Restriction Statement will indicate that material in a particular collection may be used freely; in other cases the Restriction Statement may only be a starting point for your inquiry."
- Art Source International: Historic Colorado Photographs
This company has accumulated over 2000 original glass plates, negatives and original photographs of Colorado dating from around 1865 to 1940. Fee-based collection. This site includes photos by well known western photographers such as William Henry Jackson, J.B. Sturtevant (a.k.a. Rocky Mountain Joe), Louis McClure, in addition to many one of a kind images. Many of the photographs illustrate historic Boulder, Denver, and Aspen as well as over 50 other Colorado cities
A free online collection of more than 150,000 digitized primary materials contributed by libraries, archives, and museums from all over California.
- University of Washington Digital Collections
This site features materials such as photographs, maps, newspapers, posters, reports and other media from the University of Washington Libraries, University of Washington Faculty and Departments, and organizations that have participated in partner projects with the UW Libraries. The collections emphasize rare and unique materials.
- Early Advertising of the West
The Early Advertising of the West collection consists of over 450 print advertisements published in local magazines, city directories, and theater pamphlets from 1867 to 1918.
- Denver Public Library's Digital Collection
The Denver Public Library's Western History/Genealogy collection contains photographs, art, maps, architectural drawings and, other documents chronicling the history of Denver and the west.
page adapted with the permission of Ellen Metter at the Auraria Library