Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Contemporary US and International
Access World News
Provides extensive news coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. Features the vast majority of U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with almost one thousand hard-to-find local and regional titles, and offers searchable news video clips and over two thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
Provides the historical foreground to the ethnic, minority, and native press content. Available as two resources: Ethnic NewsWatch, which is a current collection, and Ethnic NewsWatch: A History, which is an historical collection.
Historical US, including ethnic
Chicago Tribune (1849-1993) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
When first incorporated, Chicago was a swampy little town populated only by a few hundred people. Soon after, the historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1989) began chronicling the city's challenges, achievements, and evolution into one of America's finest cities.
Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
After being provoked by Joseph Pulitzer's New York World newspaper for her unconventional religious ideas, 87-year-old Mary Baker Eddy founded The Christian Science Monitor.
Hartford Courant (1764-1991) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
America's longest continuously published newspaper, The Hartford Courant is literally older than the nation. It provides historians and other researchers a front-row seat from which to view the birth of an independent nation. Study life in the U.S. from its very formation during the American Revolution, to its near collapse during the Civil War, and to its growth throughout the 20th century.
Los Angeles Times (1881-1993) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Delivers unique coverage of the development of Southern California and the American West.
New York Times with Index (1851-2013) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Through the digitized pages of The New York Times with Index, readers witness the arrival of immigrants to America's shores and follow the establishment of neighborhoods and businesses. They experience the rise and fall of financial markets and mark the introduction of the mass-produced automobile, television, space travel, and medical innovations. They gain insight into the causes and effects of the Civil War in the 1800s, the "war to end all wars" in the 1900s, and the war on terrorism in this century.
Newsday (1940-1988) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Wall Street Journal (1889-1999) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
In 1889, Dow Jones & Company first published The Wall Street Journal (formerly known as the Customers' Afternoon Letter) as a markets-focused newspaper for the country's then-fewer than 200,000 shareholders. Today, it focuses not only on the stock market, but on all aspects of global business, economics, consumer affairs, and trends and issues.
Washington Post (1877-2000) (Proquest Historical Newspapers)
Known for its comprehensive political reporting, first-rate photo essays, Pulitzer Prize-winning editorial writing, and unmatched investigative reporting, the historical Washington Post (1877-1993) is an unparalleled resource for today's budding journalists, political historians, and students of government.