Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The University Libraries collection is classified using the Library of Congress Subject Headings, a “controlled vocabulary.” By using these standardized terms, you’ll find precise resources for your topic no matter what terminology the author may have used. By simply copying a subject heading into the search tool of the University Libraries database, students will generate a list of potentially helpful resources.
A unified catalog of many Colorado area libraries. Books held by the libraries can be requested via Prospector and are delivered to the Main Library at the Anderson Academic Commons in 3 to 5 days. Colorado Legislative Council reports not cataloged in the library catalog can be identified by using Prospector.
The world's largest bibliographic database presents bibliographic records for books, serials (journals), and all other formats. Use WorldCat to find materials not in University Libraries or Prospector.
English Translations of the DSS
The Dead Sea Scrolls in English by
Call Number: BM487.A3 V4 1975
Publication Date: 1975
Esteemed biblical expert Geza Vermes's translation of the Dead Sea Scrolls has established itself as the authoritative standard.
Transcriptions of the Scrolls
Read Hebrew transcriptions of the DSS.
Discoveries in the Judaean Desert: Qumran Cave 4
Discoveries in the Judaean Desert serves as the editio princeps for the Dead Sea Scrolls. The many volumes within this series are housed in DU's library, Iliff's library, and the DU library off-site storage facility.
Select Introductory & Reference Texts
The Dead Sea Scrolls: A Very Short Introduction by
Call Number: BM487 .L53 2005
Publication Date: 2006
Timothy Lim here presents the true facts and leading theories behind the cultural and historical background of the scrolls, and examines their significance for our understanding of the Old Testament and the origins of Christianity and Judaism.
Also available online
The Dead Sea Scrolls for a New Millennium by
Call Number: BM487 .C355 2011
Publication Date: 2011
In The Dead Sea Scrolls for a New Millennium, Phillip R. Callaway presents the most comprehensive survey of the Dead Sea Scrolls since the final publication of the cave 4 fragments.
Meaning of the Dead Sea Scrolls by
Call Number: BM487 .V27 2002
Publication Date: 2004
"The definitive introduction to the Dead Sea Scrolls by two of the most prominent scholars in the field..."
Encyclopedia of the Dead Sea Scrolls by
Call Number: BM487 .E53 2000 V.1 A-M; BM487 .E53 2000 V.2 N-Z
Publication Date: 2000
Featuring 450 articles by an international community of scholars, the _Encyclopedia_ is the definitive account of what we know about the Dead Sea Scrolls--their history, relevance, meaning, and the controversies that surround them.
The Dead Sea Scrolls in Scholarly Perspective by
Call Number: BM487 .D449585 2012
Publication Date: 2012
The volume consists of 27 surveys of research into the Dead Sea Scrolls in the past 60 years, written by 26 authors. This book thereby exhaustively surveys past and present Qumran research, outlining its particular development in various circumstances and national contexts. For the first time, perspectives and information not recorded in any other publication are highlighted.
This title is also available as an ebook.
Books on Select Topics in Dead Sea Scrolls Research
Calendars in the Dead Sea Scrolls by
Call Number: BM487 .V25 1998
Publication Date: 1998
Calendars in the Dead Sea Scrolls explores the evidence about the different uses of time-measurement in the Dead Sea Scrolls, the Hebrew Bible and other ancient Jewish texts.
Prayer and Poetry in the Dead Sea Scrolls and Related Literature (Electronic Resource) by
Call Number: BM669 .G58 2012eb
Publication Date: 2011
The last major volume of articles devoted to the topic of prayer and poetry in the Dead Sea Scrolls comprised a collection of articles presented at a conference in the year 2000 (Liturgical Perspectives: Prayer and Poetry in Light of the Dead Sea Scrolls). This collection reflects the state of research in the field broadly and on specific prayers and poetic texts found among the Dead Sea Scrolls; it also offers new insights into topics on which Eileen Schuller has written extensively.
John, Qumran, and the Dead Sea Scrolls (Electronic Resource) by
Call Number: BS2615.52 .J655 2011eb
Publication Date: 2011
The essays in this book, ranging from focused studies of key passages in the Fourth Gospel to its broader social world, consider the past and potential impact of the Scrolls on Johannine studies in the context of a growing interest in the historical roots of the Johannine tradition and the origins and nature of the Johannine community and its relationship to mainstream Judaism. Future scholarship will be interested in connections between the Gospel of John and the Scrolls and also in Qumran Judaism and Johannine Christianity as parallel religious movements.
The Dead Sea Scrolls and Pauline Literature (Electronic Resource) by
Call Number: BM487 .D426 2011eb
Publication Date: 2013
This volume brings together studies by some of the best specialists of the Dead Sea Scrolls and Pauline literature. The authors explore the relationships between these two corpora in order to explain them more accurately and explain better the diffusion, transformations and reconfiguration of Jewish traditions into Mediterranean Judaism.
Society of Biblical Literature Handbook of Style, 2nd Ed.
The SBL Handbook of Style, 2nd Ed. by
Publication Date: 2014
The definitive source for how to write and publish in the field of biblical studies The long-awaited second edition of the essential style manual for writing and publishing in biblical studies and related fields includes key style changes, updated and expanded abbreviation and spelling-sample lists, a list of archaeological site names, material on qur'anic sources, detailed information on citing electronic sources, and expanded guidelines for the transliteration and transcription of seventeen ancient languages. A must-consult resource for writing and publishing in the field!
SBLHS is the standard for most of the field. See also the SBLHSS Blog
for tutorials, tips, and tricks!