Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Journal Articles
Below are the main databases for finding journal articles in history, but there are many more databases which cover historical topics. For the full list of journal databases, click on the "Databases" tab on the main page of the library. Journals articles found in these databases are usually considered secondary sources, but be sure to check the bibliographies of the articles for possible primary sources.
Compass (Search All)
A discovery tool that searches University Libraries' digital and print journals, books, newspapers, dissertations, and Library Catalog.
America: History and Life
Full text, indexes, and abstracts of journal articles, book reviews and dissertations covering the entire period of U.S. and Canadian history (prehistory-present).
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Full text, indexes, and abstracts journal articles, book reviews, books, and dissertations covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450-present.
Bibliography of Asian Studies
Referencing principally western-language articles and book chapters on all parts of Asia published since 1971.
International Medieval Bibliography
A bibliography covering the European Middle Ages (c. 400-1500). Includes 300,000 records, in all languages, covering articles from journals, conference proceedings, and essay collections.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Covers all literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700).
Published by the Société Internationale de Bibliographie Classique, this is a specialized bibliographic database of scholarly works relating to all aspects of ancient Greek and Roman civilizations.
Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database by Ebscohost provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals.
Extended access to collections until June 30, 2022. A full-text database containing complete backfiles of over 2,000 core scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the first issues and dating from the 1800s to within three to five years ago.
Periodicals Archive Online
A major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Provides access to the full text of nearly 500 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.