Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
America: History and Life
Full text, indexes, and abstracts of journal articles, book reviews and dissertations covering the entire period of U.S. and Canadian history (prehistory-present).
Art & Architecture Complete
Provides full-text coverage of hundreds of periodicals and books, as well as cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for nearly a thousand academic journals, magazines and trade publications and books.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations.
African American Biographical Database
Brings together in one resource the biographies of thousands of African Americans, many not to be found in any other reference source.
American National Biography Online
The national biography for the United States. More than 17,000 biographical sketches for deceased individuals who contributed to shaping the U.S.
Black Studies Center
Brings together essential historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself. It is comprised of several cross-searchable component databases.
Poetry & Literature
African American Poetry
The early history of African American poetry, from the first recorded poem by an African American (Lucy Terry Prince's 'Bars Fight', c.1746) to the major poets of the nineteenth century, including Paul Laurence Dunbar and Frances Ellen Watkins Harper.
Afro-Americana Imprints, 1535-1922: From the Library Company of Philadelphia
Created from the Library Company’s acclaimed Afro-Americana Collection - an accumulation that began with Benjamin Franklin and steadily increased throughout its entire history - this unique online resource will provide researchers with more than 12,000 printed works.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.