Library Guides: Finding Sources in Spanish: Articles

Introduction

This page demonstrates how to find Spanish-Language journal articles and magazine articles using library databases.

Finding Spanish-Language articles in interdisciplinary databases

ProQuest Central
ProQuest Central is a multidisciplinary database with over 11,000 titles, with over 8,000 titles in full-text. Over 160 subjects areas are covered extensively in this product including business and economics, health and medical, news and world affairs, technology, social sciences and more. To find items written in Spanish, go to the advanced search page and scroll down through the search options until you see Language near the bottom. Select Spanish. Also, using Spanish words and phrases in your search boxes will help you to retrieve relevant Spanish-Language items.
JSTOR
JSTOR provides full-text access to the top academic journals in many disciplines, such as art, anthropology, botany, health sciences, literature, performing arts, and much more. It generally provides access to the complete backfiles of the publications up to about three to five years ago. To find Spanish-language articles in JSTOR, select Spanish under Language in the "Narrow By" section.
Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database by Ebscohost provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals.

Spanish-Language Databases

Vida Pública en la Argentina Contemporánea
Vida pública en la Argentina contemporánea presents an extensive grassroots view of Argentina and the recent social and political changes that have taken place there. The database covers 1996 to the present. The bulk of this information is from primary sources. You will need to use Spanish words and phrases to search this database to get good results.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
The Handbook, edited by the Hispanic Division of the Library of Congress, is a multidisciplinary bibliography on Latin America consisting of sources from the humanities and social sciences. It is available in English, Spanish, & Portuguese versions. Includes links to full-text journals held by University Libraries.
Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro
Teatro Español del Siglo de Oro contains more than 800 Spanish plays written in the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries by 16 dramatists including Lope de Vega, Calderón de la Barca, Agustín Moreto etc. Selecting the English version will allow you to browse in English, but the full-text of the plays are in the Spanish-language.
Life and Times of Jorge Luis Borges
Database originates from the Jorge Luis Borges Collection and Documentation Center of the Fundación San Telmo, which contains the world's largest collection of materials related to Borges' life and works. The collection was begun in 1886 and includes manuscripts and letters, books, periodicals, photographs, audio and video recordings, newspaper and magazine clippings, and other objects and documents.
Bibliografia Mesoamericana
This database provides bibliographic coverage of the published literature pertaining to the anthropology of Mesoamerica (Mexico, Belize, Guatamala, Honduras, and El Salvador), including archaeology, ethnography, ethnohistory, art history, linguistics, physical anthropology, and related disciplines. Indexes books, edited volumes, festschrifts, journal articles, essays in collected works, dissertations and theses, obituaries (2 pages +), and media (audio, video, and film) but not book reviews, working papers, or unpublished materials.

Finding Spanish-Language Articles in Academic Search Complete

Academic Search Complete is an interdisciplinary database that provides full text and bibliographic coverage for general and scholarly publications covering academic areas including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies. It is updated daily.

To find items written in Spanish, go the advanced search page by clicking on the advanced search link. Type in your search terms. Typing Spanish words or phrases into your search boxes will help you to retrieve relevant Spanish-Language items.