Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Most history books will be secondary sources, but check the "Finding Primary Sources" tab for suggested strategies for finding primary source materials in the library catalog.
Books, Periodical Titles, Videos and other cataloged materials
This is the library catalog for University Libraries. Your search will help you locate materials owned by University Libraries, including books, magazines, and other cataloged materials.
A unified catalog of many Colorado area libraries. Books held by the libraries can be requested via Prospector and are delivered to the Main Library Lending Desk in 3 to 5 days.
The world's largest bibliographic database presents bibliographic records for books, serials (journals), and all other formats. Use WorldCat to find materials not in University Libraries or Prospector.
Center for Research Libraries
CRL holds approximately five million newspapers, journals, dissertations, archives, government publications, and other traditional and digital resources for research and teaching.
Google has worked with many major universities such as Stanford, Princeton, the University of Michigan and Oxford University to scan their out-of-print and current books.
HathiTrust ebook collection
Over 700,000 volumes of electronic in the public domain are digitized by the HathiTrust.
Seeks to preserve and offer access, not only to born-digital content, but to digitized content in various formats (text, audio, video, and software), and to archived Web pages. Its partners for content include the Library of Congress and Smithsonian.
Finding Journal Articles
America: History and Life
Full text, indexes, and abstracts of journal articles, book reviews and dissertations covering the entire period of U.S. and Canadian history (prehistory-present).
Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database by Ebscohost provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals.
Extended access to collections until June 31, 2021. A full-text database containing complete backfiles of over 2,000 core scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the first issues and dating from the 1800s to within three to five years ago.
Periodicals Archive Online
A major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.
Provides access to the full text of nearly 500 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.