Library Catalogs

Library of Congress Subject Headings

You can start your research searching the phrase "native american*" to find books about Native American artistis broadly, but the official Library of Congress subject heading is "Indians of North America." I recommend you search using both phrases, using quotation marks to ensure the systems searches by phrase.

Here are some samples of Library of Congress subject headings to keep in mind:

Indians of North America
Indian Art -- United States
Indian Art -- Great Plains
Indian textile fabrics -- North America
Indian Pottery -- North America
Navajo Art
Laguna Artists
Indian Art -- Southwest New

When you find a relevants book in the library catalog, examine the subject headings in the full record to find additional keywords to search.

Compass - Library Catalog tab
This is the library catalog for University Libraries. Your search will help you locate materials owned by University Libraries, DU Law, and Iliff Taylor Library, including books, magazines, and other cataloged materials.
Prospector: The Colorado Unified Catalog
Prospector is a unified catalog of sixteen academic, public and special libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. If University Libraries does not own the item or if the item is checked out, with a single search DU Library users can identify and borrow many of the materials from the collections and have them delivered to University Libraries Lending Desk in just two-four days. Whenever possible, use Propsector instead of Interlibrary Loan to request books. Articles are not available through this service.

WorldCat
The world's largest bibliographic database presents bibliographic records for books, serials (journals), and all other formats. Use WorldCat to find materials not in University Libraries or Prospector.

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Oxford Art Online
Oxford Art Online searches across several Oxford art resources, including Grove Art Online, the standard, scholarly encyclopedic dictionary for art, plus more than 6,000 images. Entries comprise signed essays with bibliographies. Also includes The Oxford Companion to Western Art, the Concise Dictionary of Art Terms, and The Encyclopedia of Aesthetics.
Credo Reference
Online reference library providing access to a large number of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and other reference books, including Who's Who, and Who Was Who.
Gale eBooks
Includes multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.
Oxford Reference
Provides access to language and subject reference works, including titles in the Oxford Companions series, in a single cross-searchable interface.
Limited to 5 concurrent users.

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

Art History - Native American Art

Librarian Profile

Library of Congress Subject Headings

Library Catalogs

Dictionaries and Encyclopedias