Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Internet Sites
American Psychiatric Association
The American Psychiatric Association is a medical specialty society recognized world-wide. Its 37,000 U.S. and international member physicians work together to ensure humane care and effective treatment for all persons with mental disorder, including mental retardation and substance-related disorders. Includes Position Statement on the Insanity Defense.
American Psychiatric Association--Disaster Psychiatry
The Disaster Psychiatry section of the APA features the Disaster Psychiatry Handbook, a collection of disaster psychiatry resources, links to disaster mental health resources from other organizations, and links to united states and international organizations.
American Psychological Association
"Based in Washington, D.C., the American Psychological Association (APA) is a scientific and professional organization that represents psychology in the United States. With 150,000 members, APA is the largest association of psychologists worldwide." See Division 48, the Society for the Study of Peace, Conflict, and Violence: Peace Psychology Division and Division 52, International Psychology.
Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters (CRED)
"CRED has been active for over 30 years in the fields of international disaster and conflict health studies, with research and training activities linking relief, rehabilitation and development. It promotes research, training and technical expertise on humanitarian emergencies, with a special focus on public health and epidemiology." See the Publications section for special reports and the Annual Disaster Statistical Review.
Doctors Without Borders/Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF)
"Doctors Without Borders/Médecins Sans Frontières (MSF) is an international medical humanitarian organization working in more than 60 countries to assist people whose survival is threatened by violence, neglect, or catastrophe." The "Publications" section has special reports, research articles, transcripts from teleconferences, and Alert Quarterly.
Health Works was established in 1992 by Doctors without Borders to bridge the gap between emergency aid and structural development. The original name of the organization was HealthNet International (HNI). In 2005 HNI merged with the Transcultural Psychosocial Organization (TPO). In 2017 HealthNet TPO changed its name to Health Works
Idealist offers a searchable database of organizations and volunteer, internship, and job opportunities around the world. The advanced search enables you to limit your search by specific countries or states, areas of focus (e.g., conflict resolution, disaster relief, microcredit, women), and by keywords.
International Committee of the Red Cross
"The ICRC, established in 1863, works worldwide to provide humanitarian help for people affected by conflict and armed violence and to promote the laws that protect victims of war. An independent and neutral organization, its mandate stems essentially from the Geneva Conventions of 1949. Based in Geneva, Switzerland, it employs some 12,000 people in 80 countries; it is financed mainly by voluntary donations from governments and from national Red Cross and Red Crescent societies."
International Organization for Migration (IOM) (UN)
"Established in 1951, IOM is the leading inter-governmental organization in the field of migration and works closely with governmental, intergovernmental and non-governmental partners." The website features the International Migration Law Database, UN Reports and Resolutions related to migration, policy briefs, and information about their journal, book, and report publications.
International Rehabilitation Council for Torture Victims
"The IRCT is the umbrella for more than 140 independent torture rehabilitation organisations in over 70 countries. Each year our members treat more than 100,000 torture survivors and their families." The Documentation Centre features a searchable database of books, journals, articles, reports, and images.
International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies (ISTSS)
"The International Society for Traumatic Stress Studies was founded in 1985 for professionals to share information about the effects of trauma...ISTSS provides a forum for the sharing of research, clinical strategies, public policy concerns and theoretical formulations on trauma around the world." Publishers of the Journal of Traumatic Stress, the ISTSS also offers information on assessment resources, treatment guidelines, and policy guidelines.
National Center for PTSD
The National Center for PTSD is "the center of excellence for research and education on the prevention, understanding, and treatment of PTSD. Our Center has seven divisions across the country. Although we provide no direct clinical care, our purpose is to improve the well-being and understanding of American Veterans." The National Center produces the PILOTS database.
National Child Traumatic Stress Network
Established by Congress in 2000, the NCTSN is a unique collaboration of academic and community-based service centers whose mission is to raise the standard of care and increase access to services for traumatized children and their families across the United States. Combining knowledge of child development, expertise in the full range of child traumatic experiences, and attention to cultural perspectives, the NCTSN serves as a national resource for developing and disseminating evidence-based...
"PreventionWeb, a project of the UN Office for Disaster Risk Reduction (UNISDR,) serves the information needs of the disaster risk reduction community, including the development of information exchange tools to facilitate collaboration. Information regarding the design and development of the project together with background documentation can be accessed here along with some services that have been put in place."
Refugee Studies Centre
Based at the University of Oxford, the Refugee Studies Centre is "the leading multidisciplinary centre for research and teaching on the causes and consequences of forced migration." The Publications section contains working papers and policy briefs, as well as information about their journals, Forced Migration Review and Journal of Refugee Studies and their book series, Studies in Forced Migration.
United Nations Office for Disaster Risk Reduction
"The International Strategy for Disaster Reduction (ISDR) is a strategic framework, adopted by United Nations Member States in 2000, aiming to guide and coordinate the efforts of a wide range of partners to achieve substantive reduction in disaster losses and build resilient nations and communities as an essential condition for sustainable development." The website offers disaster statistics, country profiles, and the Library on disaster risk reduction with an online catalog and bibliographies.
World Health Organization (WHO)
"WHO is the directing and coordinating authority for health within the United Nations system. It is responsible for providing leadership on global health matters, shaping the health research agenda, setting norms and standards, articulating evidence-based policy options, providing technical support to countries and monitoring and assessing health trends." See individual sections on countries, health topics, publications, data and statistics, and programs and projects (including Mental Health).