Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Immigration Reform Leaders Arrested
Resources from the Immigration Policy Center
Immigration Policy Center Blog
Pew Hispanic Center Research on Immigration
This section offers a selection of websites for current policy and statistical information.
American Civil Liberties Union: Immigrants' Rights
Immigrants' Rights page features news, information about specific cases, and legal documents.
American Immigration Council
A non-partisan organization that provides policymakers, the media, and the general public with accurate information about the role of immigrants and immigration policy in U.S. society.
Border Battles: The U.S. Immigration Debates
Hosted by the Social Science Research Council, Border Battles presents brief policy-related essays written by well-known immigration scholars on topics such as NAFTA and Mexican immigration, the myth of immigrant criminality, and the impact of immigration on American society.
Brookings Institute: Immigration
"The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit public policy organization based in Washington, DC. Our mission is to conduct high-quality, independent research and, based on that research, to provide innovative, practical recommendations..." The Immigration section contains policy briefs and commentary.
Center for Comparative Immigration Studies
"The Center for Comparative Immigration Studies at the University of California, San Diego is a leading international research center studying the challenges and opportunities created by migration throughout the world." Check the Publications section for full-text working papers on issues such as immigrant retirement prospects, undocumented migrants to the US, and the cultural and civic integration of Muslim immigrant women.
Center for Immigration Studies
"The Center for Immigration Studies is an independent, non-partisan, non-profit, research organization. Since our founding in 1985, we have pursued a single mission – providing immigration policymakers, the academic community, news media, and concerned citizens with reliable information about the social, economic, environmental, security, and fiscal consequences of legal and illegal immigration into the United States." Advocates a "low-immigration, pro-immigrant" position.
Center for Migration Studies
"The Center for Migration Studies of New York (CMS) is a non-profit organization, founded in 1964. Its primary goal is to support and undertake research, and to provide a forum for debate on international migration."
Federation for American Immigration Reform
"The Federation for American Immigration Reform (FAIR) is a national, nonprofit, public-interest, membership organization of concerned citizens who share a common belief that our nation's immigration policies must be reformed to serve the national interest. FAIR seeks to improve border security, to stop illegal immigration, and to promote immigration levels consistent with the national interest—more traditional rates of about 300,000 a year."
Migration Policy Institute: U.S.Immigration, Borders, Security
"The Migration Policy Institute is an independent, nonpartisan, nonprofit think tank in Washington, DC dedicated to analysis of the movement of people worldwide. MPI provides analysis, development, and evaluation of migration and refugee policies at the local, national, and international levels." The US Immigration section offers reports, videos, and audio events.
National Conference of State Legislatures: Immigration
"The National Conference of State Legislatures is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories. NCSL provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues." Presents an overview on state immigration-related bills, immigration reform policy, demographics, and research.
National Immigration Forum
"Established in 1982, the National Immigration Forum is the leading immigrant advocacy organization in the country with a mission to advocate for the value of immigrants and immigration to the nation. The Forum uses its communications, advocacy and policy expertise to create a vision, consensus and strategy that leads to a better, more welcoming America – one that treats all newcomers fairly." See the "Forum Publications" for legislative analysis back to 1996.
National Immigration Law Center
Since 1979, the National Immigration Law Center has been dedicated to defending and advancing the rights of low-income immigrants and their family members. Over the past 30 years, NILC has earned a national reputation as a leading expert on immigration, public benefits, and employment laws affecting immigrants and refugees." See the Overview of Key Immigration Issues (2009), fact sheets, Immigrants Rights' Update newsletter, and timeline.
Pew Researcj Center: Hispanic Trends
"Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization that seeks to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the nation." Check the Topic Index for immigration-related publications; see also the Data and Resources category for surveys, demographic profiles, and external Web resources.
Urban Institute: Immigrants and Immigration
"The Urban Institute gathers data, conducts research, evaluates programs, offers technical assistance overseas, and educates Americans on social and economic issues — to foster sound public policy and effective government." The Immigrants section examines a range of social issues affecting immigrants, including health, education, and economic mobility.
Yearbook of Immigration Statistics
From the Department of Homeland Security. Yearbooks, 2004 to most recent, cover legal permanent residents, naturalizations, refugees and asylees, nonimmigrant admissions, and enforcement. See also the general Immigration category for additional statistics, laws and regulations, and enforcement news.
This section offers a selection of websites for current policy information.
Colorado Alliance for Immigration Reform
"Colorado Alliance for Immigration Reform (CAIR) is a non-profit, Colorado organization seriously concerned with America's rapid population growth and the devastating effects that growth will have on the future of Colorado and the nation...CAIR is active throughout Colorado in informing the citizens of Colorado and their elected representatives on the need for population stabilization through immigration reduction."
Colorado Immigrant Rights Coalition
"The Colorado Immigrant Rights Coalition (CIRC) is a statewide alliance of immigrant, faith, labor, youth, community and ally organizations founded in 2002 to defend and advance justice for all immigrants and refugees in Colorado and the United States." The website contains State Legislative Reports (2008, 2009), as well as links to member organizations.
Rights for All People (RAP)/Derechos Para Todos
"National People's Action (NPA) is a network of grassroots organizations with a fierce reputation for direct action from across the country that work to advance a national economic and racial justice agenda."
Rocky Mountain Immigrant Advocacy Network (RMIAN)
"RMIAN has evolved into a well-known legal advocacy organization that serves two of the most vulnerable immigrant populations in Colorado: men and women in immigration detention, and immigrant children who have suffered from abuse, neglect, or violence."
This section offers a selection of websites with a historical focus.
Bracero History Archive
"The Bracero History Archive collects and makes available the oral histories and artifacts pertaining to the Bracero program, a guest worker initiative that spanned the years 1942-1964. Millions of Mexican agricultural workers crossed the border under the program to work in more than half of the states in America."
Densho: The Japanese-American Legacy Project
"Densho is a nonprofit organization started in 1996, with the initial goal of documenting oral histories from Japanese Americans who were incarcerated during World War II. This evolved into a mission to educate, preserve, collaborate and inspire action for equity. Densho uses digital technology to preserve and make accessible primary source materials on the World War II incarceration of Japanese Americans."
Immigration to the United States, 1789-1930
A "web-based collection of historical materials from Harvard's libraries, archives, and museums that documents voluntary immigration to the United States from the signing of the Constitution to the onset of the Great Depression. Concentrating heavily on the 19th century, Immigration to the US includes over 400,000 pages from more than 2,200 books, pamphlets, and serials, over 9,600 pages from manuscript and archival collections, and more than 7,800 photographs."
Institute of Oral History (University of Texas at El Paso)
"Established in 1972 for the purpose of 'preserving the history of the region adjacent to the Rio Grande both in the United States and in Mexico.' Since that time, the Institute has built one of the largest border-related oral history collections in the United States. While an emphasis has been on the El Paso-Ciudad Juárez region, the collection also contains interviews dealing with the history of communities all along the U.S.-Mexico border." Interview transcripts available from 1960-1985.