Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Finding Secondary Sources
Secondary sources are generally much easier to find than primary sources. To find secondary sources, search for books in the search box below by typing in the name of your immigrant group. The majority of the history-related books that you find will be secondary sources. You can also search for journal articles on historical topics to use as secondary sources. Listed below are some databases which may contain scholarly articles on your immigrant group.
America: History and Life
Full text, indexes, and abstracts of journal articles, book reviews and dissertations covering the entire period of U.S. and Canadian history (prehistory-present).
Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database by Ebscohost provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals.
Compass (Search All)
A discovery tool that searches University Libraries' digital and print journals, books, newspapers, dissertations, and Library Catalog.
Enables users to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
Extended access to collections until June 31, 2021. A full-text database containing complete backfiles of over 2,000 core scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the first issues and dating from the 1800s to within three to five years ago.
Provides access to the full text of nearly 500 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.