Library Guides: Ski / Snow Industry Resources: Statistics

Snow or Sports Related Sources

These sources include data related to sales of sports equipment in sources such as Sports Business Research Network, as well as demographic and economic data provided in the Kottke National End of Season Survey, Economic Analysis of United States Ski Areas. and the National Demographic Study.

Sports Business Research Network
Features market research and industry information news on the sporting goods and sports marketing industry.

Colorado Ski Country Statistics
Statistics on each resort and overall state visitors, acres of skiing, etc.
Kottke national end of season and demographic report
Print only: Current edition at Reserve Desk; GV854.A1 R48; Older editions in Special Collections.

Published by the National Ski Areas Association (NSAA), this "survey is the industry's source for regional and national skier/snowboarder visit data. It examines the relationship between skier visits and other variables such as length of season lift capacity, night skiing and snowmaking."
Economic Analysis of United States Ski Areas
Print Only: Current ed. at Reserve Desk. Next ed. in Reference GV854.8.N58 G63; Older editions in Special Collections.

Prepared by United Ski Industries Association in conjunction with KPMG Peat Marwick.
National Demographic Study
Print only: GV854.4 .N385; Older editions in Special Collections.

An annual study of "demographic characteristics of skier and snowboarders over time" in the United States.
Sporting Goods Stores - Census Data
The National Sporting Goods Association presents data from the Census for this industry.

General Sources

Statista
Features data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, including market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Note: For University of Denver faculty, students and staff only. Users of the Statista websites and subpages are granted a nonexclusive, non-transferable, limited right to access and use for research purposes the Online Service and Materials made available. Commercial use is strictly prohibited. No library walk-ins are allowed to use this database.

Esri Zip Code Lookup Tool
Click on "Explore Your Zip Code" to identify the top three lifestyle characteristics of a zip code. A subscription is required to access the full database.
Zip Code Look-Up (PRIZM/Claritas)
From Claritas, use the Zip Code Look-Up tool to find demographics for zip codes. Subscription required to access the full database.
Data Census Gov
This database from the U.S. Census provides information about people, including
Basic Counts
Education
Income
Employment
Race
Bureau of Labor Statistics
Datasets on employment, earnings, consumer and producer price indexes from U.S. Dept. of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics. Go to Data Tools for list of datasets. See Public Data API for tools to retrieve.
County Business Patterns (CBP)
"CBP is an annual series that provides subnational economic data by industry. This series includes the number of establishments, employment during the week of March 12, first quarter payroll, and annual payroll."
Census Home Page
U.S. Census Bureau home page. The official site for U.S. economic, demographic, and social statistics.

ProQuest Statistical Insight
Provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. Federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations.
ProQuest Statistical Abstract of the United States (STATABS)
A comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. Covers 1878-present

University of Denver

University Libraries

Research Guides

Ski / Snow Industry Resources

Snow or Sports Related Sources

General Sources