Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Kottke National End of Season Survey
Print only: Current edition at Reserve Desk; Next ed. in Reference GV854.A1 R48; Older editions in Special Collections.
Published by the National Ski Areas Association (NSAA), this "survey is the industry's source for regional and national skier/snowboarder visit data. It examines the relationship between skier visits and other variables such as length of season lift capacity, night skiing and snowmaking."
National Demographic Study
Print only: Current edition at Reserve Desk; next edition in Reference GV854.4 .N385; Older editions in Special Collections.
An annual study of "demographic characteristics of skier and snowboarders over time" in the United States.
Snow Sports Industry Intelligence Report
Current edition at Reserve Desk. Older editions in Hamden GV840.7.U6 S66 (Print Only)
Published by SnowSports Industries America (SIA), this report "offers a compilation of research from over 10 different snow sports industry studies. It includes participation data, ski area visits, business trends, demographics, merchandise distribution and more."
Grants easy and fast access to the same best-in-class consumer and market intelligence used by business professionals around the world.
Market research reports from leading research firms, as well as reports from MarketLooks. Subjects covered include consumer & personal products, demographics, engineering & construction, food & beverage, and more.
Esri Zip Code Lookup Tool
Use the Zip lookup tool to identify the top three lifestyle characteristics of a zip code. A subscription is required to access the full database.
Zip Code Look-Up
From Claritas, use the Zip Code Look-Up tool to find demographics for zip codes. Subscription required to access the full database.
County Level Data Sets
From the USDA - ERS, this site provides state and county-level data on population, poverty, education, employment, unemployment, and median household income.
An interactive site allowing you to find information using zip codes, demographics and displaying results using percentile ranks (0-99). Difficult to verify its authority or how data is obtained.
American Time Use Survey
This source from the Bureau of Labor Statistics provides data on "the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing."
Berkshire Encyclopedia of Extreme Sports
Entries for this encyclopedia focusing on extreme sports include mountain biking, karate, skiing, and snowboarding. Provides a history and development of the sports and those who participate in them.