Library Guides: SOWK 4118 Historical U.S. Health Care Policy: Primary Source and other Contemporary Material

Government Statistics

CMS Data Compendium
Historic, current, and projected data on Medicare enrollment and Medicaid recipients, expenditures, and utilization from the U.S. Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services. National health expenditure data not specific to the Medicare or Medicaid programs are also included. Data for 2002 through 2011.
Health Statistics (U.S. National Library of Medicine)
Health conditions, Insurance, hospitals, procedures, personnel, pharmaceuticals.
National Center for Health Statistics
From the U.S. CDC, Centers for Disease Control and Prevention.
Colorado Department of Public Health and Environment

Introduction

This research guide is designed to help students find books, articles, and primary source material in support of the historical health care policy assignment. Please also check the SOWK 4118 History of Social Welfare and Social Work research guide for additional sources.

Primary Source and other Contemporary Material

This section presents suggested sources for finding government documents, historical newspaper articles, period journal articles, and historical statistics. Other historical newspapers can be found in the Databases and Articles subject category, "Newspapers, Historical." Those of you concentrating on later decades will want to use the "Newspapers, Current" category. Remember when searching primary source material with keywords in the full text to use the language of the time period.

ProQuest Congressional
Offers access to congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress.
U.S. Congressional Serial Set, 1817-1994
Contains all the reports, documents, and journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
New York Times with Index (1851-2013) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Through the digitized pages of The New York Times with Index, readers witness the arrival of immigrants to America's shores and follow the establishment of neighborhoods and businesses. They experience the rise and fall of financial markets and mark the introduction of the mass-produced automobile, television, space travel, and medical innovations. They gain insight into the causes and effects of the Civil War in the 1800s, the "war to end all wars" in the 1900s, and the war on terrorism in this century.
Chicago Tribune (1849-1993) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
When first incorporated, Chicago was a swampy little town populated only by a few hundred people. Soon after, the historical Chicago Tribune (1849-1989) began chronicling the city's challenges, achievements, and evolution into one of America's finest cities.
Los Angeles Times (1881-1993) (ProQuest Historical Newspapers)
Delivers unique coverage of the development of Southern California and the American West.
Hispanic American Newspapers 1808-1980
Offers a diversity of unabridged voices, ranging from intellectuals and literary notables to politicians, union organizers and grassroots figures.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Google Scholar
Enables users to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
Historical Statistics of the United States
The standard source for the quantitative facts of American history.
ICPSR Direct: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
An integral part of the infrastructure of social science research, ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.
Note: A personal account is required for downloading content. Account must be created on campus before being able to log in from off campus.
Roper Center Public Opinion Archives
A comprehensive database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935. All of the major polling organizations in the US are included in this system. The RoperExpress section allows users to search for and download data sets housed at the Roper Center.