Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Center for Information and Research on Civic Learning and Engagement
CIRCLE promotes research on the civic and political engagement of Americans between the ages of 15 and 25. See Major Research Areas, Products, and Data for fact sheets, working papers, and statistics (including the National Youth Survey 2004) about youth political and community participation, attitudes and beliefs, group membership and social networks, and race, gender, and immigrant status.
Child Trends Databank
The databank provides continuously updated national trend and research data concerned with child and youth well-being. Topical areas include: health; social and emotional development; income, assets, and work; education and skills; demographics; and family and community. Can search for information by age group or by subgroup characteristics (e.g., gender, race and ethnicity, family structure). The website also presents the section, What Works: Programs and Interventions that May Influence Outcom
This website of the Federal Interagency Forum on Child and Family Statistics offers statistics and reports on children and their families and covers population and family characteristics, economic security, health, behavior and social environment, and education. The forum publishes the annual report, America’s Children: Key National Indicators of Well-Being which alternates between a full and brief edition each year.
Colorado Bureau of Investigation Supplemental Homicide Report
Part of the CBI's Crime in Colorado website, this report examines the number of murder/non-negligent manslaughters, negligent manslaughters and justifiable homicides that occurred in Colorado. Information is provided on the number of offenses per month, the race and age of the victims and the offenders, the relationship of the victim to the offender, as well as the type of weapon used, and circumstances of the homicide.
Crime in the United States
Crime in the United States (CIUS) is an annual publication in which the FBI compiles volume and rate of crime offenses for the nation, the states, and individual agencies. This report also includes arrest, clearance, and law enforcement employee data. Crime in the United States is part of the Uniform Crime Reports Program which publishes additional reports on Hate Crime Statistics and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted.
ICPSR Direct: Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research
An integral part of the infrastructure of social science research, ICPSR maintains and provides access to a vast archive of social science data for research and instruction.
Note: A personal account is required for downloading content. Account must be created on campus before being able to log in from off campus.Under the pandemic circumstances we are asking that people email ICPSR and ask to have their accounts linked to University of Denver's membership.
J 32.10:AR 6/
Summarizes and analyzes national and State juvenile arrest data from the FBI's report entitled Crime in the United States 2004.
Monitoring the Future
Monitoring the Future is an ongoing study of the behaviors, attitudes, and values of American secondary school students, college students, and young adults. Each year, a total of some 50,000 8th, 10th and 12th grade students are surveyed (12th graders since 1975, and 8th and 10th graders since 1991). See the "Publications" and "Data Tables and Figures" sections.
National Adolescent Health Information Center
Based at the UC San Francisco Division of Adolescent Medicine and supported by funding from the Maternal and Child Health Bureau, the NAHIC serves as a national resource for adolescent health information and research. The Adolescent Health Data section provides publications on a range of topics, including: unintentional injury, substance use, mental health, reproductive health, positive measures of well-being, and special populations of adolescents.
National Archive of Criminal Justice Data
This freely available data warehouse, a subset of the Inter-University Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)
, contains data sets covering corrections, courts, crime and delinquency, the criminal justice system, hate crimes, homicides, international crime, police, victimization, violent crimes, and several other areas. To download data public users may create an account with the system, or download anonymously.
National Center for Health Statistics
See especially links for Deaths/Mortality, Births/Nativity, and National Vital Statistics System under Top 10 Links.
National Crime Victimization Survey (NCVS)
National Crime Victimization Survey is the Nation's primary source of information on criminal victimization. Each year, data are obtained from a nationally representative sample of 42,000 households comprising nearly 76,000 persons on the frequency, characteristics and consequences of criminal victimization in the United States. The survey enables BJS to estimate the likelihood of victimization by rape, sexual assault, robbery, assault, theft, household burglary, and motor vehicle theft for the
National Longitudinal Survey of Youth
This ongoing survey by the U.S. Department of Labor interviews a representative sample of 9,000 youths from across the nation every year. Designed to document the transition from school to work and into adulthood, the survey collects information about youth’s labor market behavior, educational experiences, relationships with parents, contact with absent parents, marital and fertility histories, dating, sexual activity, onset of puberty, training, participation in government assistance programs
Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics
The Sourcebook of Criminal Justice Statistics brings together data from more than 100 sources about many aspects of criminal justice in the United States.
Statistical Briefing Book (Office of Juvenile Justice and Delinquency Prevention)
The SBB features statistical information about juvenile population characteristics, juveniles as victims and offenders, and youth involvement in the juvenile justice system. Includes Juvenile Offenders and Victims: 2006 National Report, National Youth Gang Survey: 1999-2001 and other published reports online, as well as links to national data sets and related Web statistical resources.