Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
SIRIS (Smithsonian Institution Research System)
1) Inventory of American Sculpture (via Art Inventories Catalog)
2) Inventory of American Painting (via Art Inventories Catalog)
3) Archives of American Art (via Archvies, Manuscripts, & Photographic Catalog)
To limit your search within the catalog to one of these specific collections, click on the "Combined" tab and then highlight the collection(s) you wish to search.
Descriptions include papers of artists, art dealers, art historians, collectors, and others; records of art galleries, museums, and art organizations; videos; and interviews from AAA's oral history project. Request microfilm through Interlibrary Loan and include call number. Only 8 rolls of microfilm are lent to an institution at a time. Return film ASAP so that your colleagues may have their requests filled as well.
National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
The National Archives was established in 1934 by President Franklin Roosevelt, but its major holdings date back to 1775. There are approximately 10 billion pages of textual records; 12 million maps, charts, and architectural and engineering drawings; 25 million still photographs and graphics; 24 million aerial photographs; 300,000 reels of motion picture film; 400,000 video and sound recordings; and 133 terabytes of electronic data. All of these materials are preserved because they are important to the workings of Government, have long-term research worth, or provide information of value to citizens.
Denver Branch of National Archives and Records Administration (NARA)
Archival holdings are comprised of Federal records that date from the mid-1800s to the late 1900s received from over 100 Federal agencies and courts. Hold records from Colorado, New Mexico, North and South Dakota (post-1971), Utah, and Wyoming.
Colorado State Archives
The Colorado State Archives is the legal repository for selected historical and contemporary records and information generated by state and local governments in Colorado. It has records back to the 19th century.
Each state has its own archives, which is completely separate from the National Archives.
Colorado Historical Society
Books, manuscripts, maps, newspapers, photographs, magazines, journals, directories, artifacts, and special collections related to the history of Colorado.