Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A nonprofit resource that provides over 1.6 million digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences with an accessible suite of software tools for teaching and research.
Contains photographs, audio sound bites, graphics, and text spanning over 160 years of history.
Bloomsbury Fashion Central
Provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history.
Picture Post Historical Archive
The Picture Post’s liberal, anti-Fascist, populist editorial stance, coupled with candid 35mm photography by a stable of talented photographers, was a runaway success from its first issue. Circulation reached 1.7m within six months and readership was estimated at 80% of the British population during the war years.
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images.
Google Art Project
A collaboration between Google and museum partners to provide access to high-quality art images.
Flickr: The Commons
"The key goals of The Commons on Flickr are to firstly show you hidden treasures in the world's public photography archives, and secondly to show how your input and knowledge can help make these collections even richer."
Use the "Search The Commons" search box to limit your search to results from participating institutions.
LIFE photo archive hosted by Google
Search millions of photographs from the LIFE photo archive, stretching from the 1750s to today.
A wide array of images from across the disciplines, but quality can be uneven and may not include attribution of original source. If you plan to post images found via Google on the Web or use them in a publication, ensure you have permissions from the original source.
DU School of Art and Art History Visual Media Center News
The Visual Media Center in the School of Art and Art History at the University of Denver creates images for faculty and students at the University. The VMC News Blog will also provide access to images available on the internet from a variety of sources.
Finding Images on the Web
A guide to web resources developed by Ruth S. Thomas, Art/Art History Bibliographer, Boston University Libraries.