Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Welfare Policy
This research guide is designed to help social work students find state and federal legislation, documents, and contextual materials regarding contemporary social welfare issues. Be sure also to check the Public Policy and Legislative Research (United States) research guides, located in the Public Policy category.
Federal Government Databases
Congressional Record (via HeinOnline)
The Congressional Record, and the preceding titles Annals of the Congress of the United States, Register of Debates in Congress, and the Congressional Globe are all available through HeinOnline.
Provides in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day.
Provides free public access to official publications from all three branches of the Federal Government. GPO launched govinfo in February 2016 as a beta website to eventually replace its predecessor, GPO’s Federal Digital System (FDsys).
Government Accountability Office (GAO) Reports
Provides digital access to GAO reports from as far back as the 1960s to recent.
Provides full-text online access to all legal journals, rare and out-of-print collections and all back issues of indexed legal journals into a searchable electronic format.
Features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources, including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790.
"A project of the Center for Democracy & Technology, Every CRS provides citizens access to CRS Reports that are already in the public domain and encourages Congress to provide public access to all CRS Reports." not all CRS reports are available at this site. However, keep Open CRS in mind as an alternative resource to the LexisNexis subscription database, LexisNexis Congressional (which contains the CRS reports), for accessing CRS reports when you graduate.
Offers access to congressional publications dealing with the wide variety of topics addressed by Congress.
ProQuest CRS Reports
The Congressional Research Service (CRS) was established within the Library of Congress to provide members, committees, and congressional staff with nonpartisan and objective research and analysis on all public policy issues.
ProQuest Digital Hearings
Published hearings are the official record of committee hearings proceedings. Hearings, which are usually open to the public, are held to enable committees to gather opinions and information to help Members make decisions regarding proposed legislation or to help them fulfill their oversight and investigation responsibilities.
ProQuest Legislative Histories
These legislative histories provide indexing of bill versions, congressional debate, congressional reports and documents, congressional hearings and committee prints, and other documents. Search by title, subject term, or bibliographic number such as public law or report number. Later years contain links to the full text of reports, debate, and hearings.
ProQuest Legislative Insight
Features thoroughly researched compilations of digital full text publications created by Congress during the process leading up to the enactment of U.S. Public Laws.