Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Social Welfare Policy
This research guide is designed to help social work students find state and federal legislation, documents, and contextual materials regarding contemporary social welfare issues. Be sure also to check the Public Policy and Legislative Research (United States) research guides, located in the Public Policy category.
Journal and Newspaper Articles
This is a selection of social work, sociology, and newspaper databases to begin researching the background information for your social problem and policy issue, whether at the local, state, or national level. Depending on your specific issue, you will want to search additional subject databases, such as ERIC for education topics, Criminal Justice Abstracts and National Criminal Justice Reference Service for criminology, or MEDLINE for health issues. Check the relevant category in "Database and Article Search" for a list of recommended databases for that particular subject area.
Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database by Ebscohost provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals.
Access World News
Provides extensive news coverage at any level—local, state, regional, national and international. Features the vast majority of U.S. newspapers by circulation, along with almost one thousand hard-to-find local and regional titles, and offers searchable news video clips and over two thousand international news sources from scores of countries on six continents, translated into English when written in other languages.
Printing and downloading are limited to insubstantial portions of the data, for temporary storage. If you have any questions, contact Electronic Resources.
Social Services Abstracts
Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services and related areas, including social welfare, social policy and community development.
SocINDEX with Full Text
Contains full text for 344 "core" coverage journals in sociology, its sub-disciplines, and related fields dating back to 1895, and 129 "priority" coverage journals.
Abstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences.