Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Sources - Table of Contents
Databases for Industry Overviews
Industry overviews can give you an idea of what is going on in an industry. Some of the things you can do with the information you get from them is determine trends and identify the type of competion in the industry. Below is a list of University Libraries subscription databases that provide profiles and overviews for a wide range of industries. Use your NAICS or SIC code to search in First Research. You can use the NAICS code to search in IBISWorld.
Provides thoroughly researched, accurate and current business information with expert analysis about economic, demographic and government data.
First Research (Mergent)
Provides industry profiles within the wide range of industries that fall under Construction and Real Estate; Public Services, Education, Recreation; Retail, Food and Agriculture; Services; Manufacturing; Technology and Communications; Transportation, Energy, Storage; and Wholesale. Note: Subscription allows five simultaneous users.
Business Source Complete
Contains premium content of peer-reviewed, business related journals. Provides detailed company information for more than 1.1 million of the world's largest public and private companies.
Provides business intelligence for countries, consumers, and industries worldwide.
Plunkett Research Online
Industry-specific research portals for the most important business sectors, from energy to e-commerce and retailing to financial services.
Standard & Poor's NetAdvantage
Provides company information and industry surveys on 52 major U.S. industries.
Includes multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized reference sources.
Features data on over 60,000 topics from over 18,000 sources, including market research reports, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
Note: For University of Denver faculty, students and staff only. Users of the Statista websites and subpages are granted a nonexclusive, non-transferable, limited right to access and use for research purposes the Online Service and Materials made available. Commercial use is strictly prohibited. No library walk-ins are allowed to use this database.
Business Source Complete - Statistics
In addition to being a full-text article database, BSC provides statistics published in various sources, such as Barnes Reports. To obtain industry statistics from the Barnes Reports once you have accessed BSC, enter your NAICS code in the first search box (be sure to change the default to IC NAICS Code or Description), enter "Barnes Reports" (in quotes) in the second search box and change the default to TX All Text, then click on the Search button. You can search for NAICS codes at https://www.census.gov/eos/www/naics/.
Market Research Databases
Market research reports include a discussion about the industry. The market research databases below are available to University of Denver students, faculty and staff can access and use, as long as they will not be applying the information for commercial purposes.
Grants easy and fast access to the same best-in-class consumer and market intelligence used by business professionals around the world.
Market research reports from leading research firms, as well as reports from MarketLooks. Subjects covered include consumer & personal products, demographics, engineering & construction, food & beverage, and more.