Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Confused about a topic covered in class? There are lots of ways to get help!
You know that you can ask your professor for help, and you hopefully know about the Science & Engineering Tutoring Center in the AAC. The library also has a variety of sources designed to supplement what you learn in class.
Books can help explain a concept in new ways
Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science
An information service designed to introduce researchers and students to new topics and areas. Each "Lecture" is a 75 to 125-page electronic book that synthesizes an important research or development topic, authored by a prominent contributor to the field. The publisher hopes that these lectures provide more synthesis, analysis, and depth than typical research journal articles.
Safari Learning Platform: Academic Edition (O'Reilly)
A virtual library focused on information technology, programming, design, and business. Includes tutorials, case studies, best-selling books, and more.
Access using your institutional email (DU.EDU, Iliff.edu). Account creation optional--can be used for offline reading on a mobile device. [Visitors, please see the Research Center for access.].
Finally, you can always search the big red "Compass" search box on the library homepage to find books and movies -- use the menu on the right-hand side of the page to narrow down by "Resource Type."
Get data, equations, and handbooks
Use the "Property Search" to find material and property information from technical references. Knovel also provides access to handbooks, case studies, and other technical documents. Their site includes online tools such as a unit converter and interactive equation worksheets that help you find and learn to solve engineering equations.
Includes a critically acclaimed collection of best-selling engineering handbooks and reference titles.
Filled with authoritative handbooks and recent research, including the Handbook of Chemistry and Physics; Dictionary of Organic Compounds; Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds; Dictionary of Drugs; Polymers Property Database; and more.