Library Guides: Imagining the Amazon/Explorando la Amazonia: Finding Articles

Interdisciplinary

Academic Search Complete
Designed for academic institutions, this database by Ebscohost provides complete coverage of multidisciplinary, full-text academic journals.
Compass (Search All)
A discovery tool that searches University Libraries' digital and print journals, books, newspapers, dissertations, and Library Catalog.

Google Academico
Google Scholar, Google's academic search tool, is now available in Spanish through Google Academico. It has the same look and feel as Google Scholar, but with the Spanish-language content. Results are best when you use Spanish-language search terms.

Google Scholar
Enables users to search specifically for scholarly literature, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, preprints, abstracts and technical reports from all broad areas of research.
Handbook of Latin American Studies (HLAS)
A multidisciplinary bibliography on Latin America consisting of sources from the humanities and social sciences.
HAPI Online (Hispanic American Periodicals Index)
Source for authoritative, worldwide information about Central and South America, Mexico, Brazil, the Caribbean basin, the United States-Mexico border region, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
ProQuest Central
Serves as the central resource for researchers at all levels.

JSTOR
A full-text database containing complete backfiles of over 2,000 core scholarly journals that have been digitized, starting with the first issues and dating from the 1800s to within three to five years ago.
Project Muse
Provides access to the full text of nearly 500 scholarly journals in the humanities, social sciences, and mathematics.
Periodicals Archive Online
A major archive that makes the backfiles of scholarly periodicals in the arts, humanities and social sciences.

MLA International Bibliography with Full Text (MLAIB)
Offers a detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations.

Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Full text, indexes, and abstracts journal articles, book reviews, books, and dissertations covering world history (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450-present.
America: History and Life
Full text, indexes, and abstracts of journal articles, book reviews and dissertations covering the entire period of U.S. and Canadian history (prehistory-present).

Anthropology Plus
Brings together Harvard University's Anthropological Literature and the United Kingdom's Anthropological Index (Royal Anthropological Institute) to provide comprehensive coverage of anthropological literature.
AnthroSource
An online resource serving the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists.

Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text
The definitive online tool for film and television research, including film & television theory, preservation & restoration, writing, production, cinematography, technical aspects, and reviews.
Communication & Mass Media Complete
Provides access to the literature in areas related to communication and mass media.