Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Beck Archives Photograph Collection
The Beck Archives Photograph Collection contains materials which reflect the rich, varied, and vibrant Jewish experience in the Rocky Mountain region, with a special emphasis on Colorado.
Lowenstein Family Papers and Art
This collection spans the rise and fall of the Nazi Regime in Berlin, Germany through the experience of Holocaust survivors, the Lowenstein family. It continues to document their immigration and settlement in Denver, Colorado after WWII ended.
Oberfelder Concert Series and Family Papers
Pioneer impresario Arthur M. Oberfelder was born in Nebraska but came to Denver after graduating college in 1913. He married Denver native Hazel Marx at Temple Emanuel. By 1917, he'd organized his own concert management company. The Oberfelder Concert Series operated every year until Oberfelder’s death in 1954.
Jewish Consumptives' Relief Society Records
The Jewish Consumptives' Relief Society was known as the JCRS and was founded in Denver, Colorado in 1904 as a non-sectarian sanatorium to treat tuberculosis (TB) patients, free of charge, in all stages of the disease. (cont.)
Jewish Consumptives' Relief Society Patient Records
Search for information on a specific patient, or browse all the patient records. A patient inquiry may be done by clicking on a name in an alphabetical list of the patients or through a searchable database.
National Asthma Center Records
The National Asthma Center (NAC) existed under a series of names. It was founded in 1907 by Fannie Lorber as the Denver Sheltering Home for Jewish Children; from 1928-1952, (cont.)
National Jewish Hospital Records
In 1899, the Jewish community erected National Jewish Hospital (NJH), the first sanatorium in Denver, Colorado for tuberculosis victims. With the financial assistance of the International Order of B'nai B'rith, (cont.)
Collection on Otto Mears
Collection contains a mounted Rocky Mountain Empire Magazine page, 1948, a laminated sheet music ''The Ballad of Otto Mears,'' photocopies of ''Western States Jewish Historical Quarterly," correspondence from Kankakee Federal Savings, and newspaper clippings from London Jewish Chronicle 1979. Also an Otto Mears silver filigree railroad pass for the Rio Grande Southern and Silverton railroads.
AMC Cancer Research Center Records
Collection contains board of trustee's minutes, committee minutes, reports, AMC By-laws, name plates, posters, publications, programs, photographs, and scrapbooks related to the AMC Cancer Research Center from 1957 through 2012. The American Medical Center is the successor to JCRS. Additionally, some older material relating to JCRS is also in the collection dating back to 1904.
Rose Hospital Records
General Rose Memorial Hospital was founded in 1945. The hospital was named for General Maurice Rose, a Denver native, who had been killed in action the same year. General Rose was the highest ranking American officer killed in action in Europe and also the highest ranking Jewish officer in the Army. The hospital was intended to “serve the need of every creed.”
The records highlight fundraising related to the hospital foundation through photographs, programs and other event ephemera. Several recorded interviews and television programs as well as published texts provide and in-depth history of the organization. The collection includes ephemera, publications, scrapbooks, donation ledgers, photographs, newspaper clippings and audio-visual materials.
Special Collections at the University of Denver is located in Room 101 on the lower level of the Anderson Academic Commons.
Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00am-4:00pm